Skip to Main Content

APA Style Guide

Library Research Guide A guide to help you with APA 7th edition

Books

Type In-Text Citation Reference
Book with DOI - 1 author (Sporns, 2010) Sporns, O. (2010). Networks of the brain. MIT Press. https://10.1031/00002587458
Book - specific edition, two authors (Mash & Barkley, 2006) Mash, E.J. & Barkley, R.A. (2006). Treatment of childhood disorders (2nd ed.). Guilford Press.
Book without DOI -  3 - 20 authors (James et al., 2005) James, C., Downing, E.B., Longo, J.A., Flygare, J. & Sterba, A. (2005). New librarianship in the digital era: Tips for success. Global Press.
Electronic book (e.g., Kindlebook) or audiobook without a DOI, with a nondatabase URL (Cain, 2012)

Cain, S. (2012). Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking (K. Mazur, Narr.) [Audiobook]. Random House Audio. http://bit.ly/2G0Bpbl
Electronic Book From a database - Login required (Sporns, 2010)

Sporns, O. (2010). Networks of the brain. MIT Press.

See section 9.30 & 9.34 in the manual. "For works without DOIs from most academic research databases, do not include a URL or database information...The reference should be the same as the reference fro a print version of the work."
Electronic Book from an E-Reader (Sporns, 2010) Sporns, O. (2010). Networks of the brain [Kindle Reader version]. Retrieved from www.amazon.com
DSM - V - Entire book
(American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

 

Type In-Text Citation Reference
Chapter in an edited book with a DOI (Haybron et al., 2008)

Haybron, D.M., Martell, Z., & Martin, J.A. (2008). Philosophy and the science of subjective well-being. In M. Eid & J. Larsen (Eds.), The science of subjective well-being (pp. 17-43). Guilford Press. https://dou.org/10.1037/1125478/254

Ed. or Eds. refers to editor or editors
Chapter in an edited book without a doi, from most databases or print version

 (Weinstock & Leong, 2003)

 Weinstock, R., & Leong, G.B. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.), Principles and practice of forensic psychiatry (2nd. ed., pp. 7-13). CRC Press.
Chapter in a volume of multivolume work (Goldin-Meadow, 2015) Perkowitz, S. (2017). Relativity. In The new encyclopedia Britannica (Vol. 26, pp. 501-508). Encyclopedia Britannica.
Entry in an encyclopedia, dictionary or thesaurus, with an individual author (Perkowitz, 2017) Perkowitz, S. (2017). Relativity. In The new encyclopedia Britannica (Vol. 26, pp. 501-508). Encyclopedia Britannica.
Entry in an encyclopedia, dictionary, or thesaurus, with a group author (American Psychological Association, n.d.)

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Positive transference. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved December 17, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/positive-transference

When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archives, include a retrieval date. See section 9.15.
Entry in an encyclopedia, dictionary, or thesaurus from a library database (World Trade Press, 2022)

World Trade Press. (2022). Myanmar: Women in culture. In A to z the world. Retrieved June 1, 2022, from A to Z the World database.

The database name is only included in citations of sources from databases with original, proprietary material. For more information and examples see Section 9:30 of the and this page on the APA website.
Entry in DSM-V (American Psychiatric Association, 2013) American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Anxiety disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.dsm05 

 

Type In-Text Citation Reference
Unpublished dissertation or thesis (Gabbard, 2010) Gabbard, D. (2010). Illustrating with type: A typographic exploration of nursery rhymes [Unpublished master's thesis]. University of Central Oklahoma.
Dissertation or thesis from a database (Moss, 1990) Moss, K.S. (1990). Representations of Lucretia in early sixteenth century Germany (Publication 10289373) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Washington]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.
Dissertation or thesis published online (not in a database) (Hutcheson, 2012) Hutcheson, V.H. (2012). Dealing with dual differences: Social coping strategies of gifted and lesbian, gay, and bisexual, transgender, and queer adolescents [Master's thesis, The college of William and Mary]. William & Mary Digital Archive. https://digitalarchive.wm.edu/bistram/handle/1022875/20587.pdf