Helpful Keywords
When looking for studies, try adding these keywords to your search (or use a limiter if available, like in PsycInfo).
Empirical
Qualitative
Quantitative
Analysis
Regression
Journal Check
Use Ulrich's to check and make sure that your article is coming from a peer-reviewed journal.
- UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowDirectory of periodicals with information on peer-reviewed status, database availability, publisher, country, ISSN, start year, and active/inactive status.
There are a few hundred databases available through the UCO Library, so here are the recommendations for this course:
#1) PsycInfo - This is the only database that allows you to limit the methodology to empirical studies. No matter what your topic is, try here first!
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Psychology, mental health, addictions and treatment, therapies, experiments, case studies, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatric nursing, linguistics, social work. How to Search PsycInfo - Advanced
This link opens in a new window
Education topics
These databases are going to be the most useful for educational topics:
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window Education, all levels and aspects. Includes articles, overviews, and other materials such as lesson plans. How to search an EBSCO database
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education plus all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. How to search an EBSCO database Education Research Guide ESFR 5013 Research Guide
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Resources for professional educators. Sources include 530 journals of interest to educators, with full text from 440 of education titles. Over 160 full-text pamphlets, most from the U.S. Department of Education, also are available. Subject coverage includes education, counseling, administration and supervision, educational evaluation and assessment, and library and information science.
- ProQuest Central: Education This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition topics
These databases are going to be the most useful for nutritional topics:
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Nursing, nursing specialties, health, medicine, alternative medicine, care and treatment options,and allied disciplines. Designed for practitioners. How to search an EBSCO database
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness. Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Updated weekly. How to search an EBSCO database
- CINAHL with Full Text - Nursing & Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Most comprehensive source of full text articles for nursing & allied health journals related to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship,alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. How to search CINAHL - Basic How to search CINAHL - Advanced
- PubMed This link opens in a new window A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and 35 other databases and individual life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Other useful databases
Depending on your topic, you may or may not find the following databases useful:
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window Scholarly articles, books, and other sources in sociology and related fields. How to search an EBSCO database
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Scholarly articles, books and other published sources in the humanities disciplines. How to search an EBSCO database
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource providing articles from peer-reviewed journals. UCO's Collections include Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Security Studies, and Sustainability. Archival access only. How to search JSTOR
- SportDiscus Full Text This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals, books, and trade publications in sports, sports medicine, kinesiology, and other related fields. How to search an EBSCO database
