HIST 1493 - WEEKS

This volume resumes the narrative begun in its companion volume, "The American Republic", which covered the first eight decades of U.S. history, ending at the onset of the Civil War. "The American Nation" continues the story through America's entrance into World War II.

An easily accessible resource that showcases the links between using documented primary sources and gaining a more nuanced understanding of military history.Primary source analysis is a valuable tool that teaches students how historians utilize documents and interpret evidence from the past. This four-volume reference traces key decisions in U.S. military history--from the Revolutionary War through the 21st-century conflicts in Afghanistan and Iraq--by examining documents relating to military strategy and national policy judgments by U.S. military and political leaders.A comprehensive introductory essay provides readers with the context necessary to understand the relationship between diplomatic documents, military correspondence, and other documentation related to events that shaped warfare, diplomacy, and military strategy. Once the stage is set, the work covers 14 conflicts that are significant to U.S. history. Treatment of each of the conflicts begins with a historical overview followed by a chronology and approximately 30 primary source documents presented in chronological order. Each document is accompanied by a description and annotations and by an analysis that highlights its importance to the event or topic under discussion. Designed for secondary school and college students, the work will be exceptionally valuable to teachers who will appreciate the ready-made lessons that fit directly into core curriculum standards.

This book presents a thorough revision of the Award-winning set. Facts On File is proud to announce the revision of its award-winning 11-volume ""Encyclopedia of American History"", the landmark reference to American history from prehistoric times to the modern day. This extensive revision features more than 1,000 new and revised entries, as well as a thorough update of existing entries to reflect current research. In addition, a new insert of full-color maps has been added to each volume. Continuing to offer unparalleled depth and breadth of coverage, ""Encyclopedia of American History, Revised Edition"" provides a balanced presentation of the political, social, economic, and cultural events that have shaped the land and the nation. Each volume editor is a distinguished scholar of American history who has drawn upon the expertise of scores of specialists in writing individual, signed entries of outstanding quality. It meets National Standards for United States History. Ideal for students, teachers, and librarians, the first 10 expertly researched volumes in this authoritative set are arranged chronologically in accordance with the National Standards for United States History. The 11th volume contains the comprehensive set Index. It features content that is clear and easy to understand. Written in accessible language to facilitate students' understanding of each era, the easy-to-read text is enhanced by 750 photographs and 250 full-color and black-and-white maps. Detailed entries cover key events, movements, historical figures, trends, and political developments that define each particular era in American history. Addressing the need for historical literacy, the set is truly inclusive, casting a wide historical net across topics and eras and comprising many lesser-known but still influential figures and events. Key features enhance the set's reference value. It features accessible text and more than 3,300 detailed, fully cross-referenced entries; biographies of significant Americans in each era; a further reading section at the end of many of the signed entries; approximately 1,000 illustrations, including full-color and black-and-white maps, photographs, cartoons, and advertisements, that visually document each era; topical entries in each volume on related subjects such as art and architecture, business, economy, literature, and science and technology; a chronology and bibliography at the end of each volume; an appendix in each volume that contains excerpts of key documents of the era, an individual volume indexes, and a comprehensive set index.

The Reader's Companion to American History offers a fresh, absorbing portrait of the United States from the origins of its native peoples to the nation's complex identity in the 1990s. Covering political, economic, cultural, and social history, and combining hundreds of short descriptive entries with longer evaluative articles, the encyclopedia is informative, engaging, and a pleasure to read. The Reader's Companion is sponsored by the Society of American Historians, an organization dedicated to promoting literary excellence in the writing of biography and history. Under the editorship of the eminent historians John A. Garraty and Eric Foner, a large and distinguished group of scholars, biographers, and journalists -- nearly four hundred contemporary authorities -- illuminate the critical events, issues, and individuals that have shaped our past. More than a reference book to be consulted simply for the dates or details of an event, the Companion offers a history of ideas. It distinguishes itself from conventional encylcopedias by featuring several hundred thematic articles. A chronological account of immigration, for example, is complemented by a conceptual article on ethnicity. Similarly, the Bull Moose party and the Know-Nothings, examined in individual entries, are also placed within a larger context in an article on third parties in American politics. And readers consulting entries on specific religious groups, leaders, and movements will be led to an article offering an overview of religion in America. Linking discrete facts, dates, and events through its interpretive essays, the Reader's Companion presents the overarching themes and ideas that have animated our historicallandscape. Over the past twenty years, the study of history has undergone a metamorphosis. Political history, once the primary avenue for exploring the past, has given way to the "new social history." Focus has shifted from key events and leaders to everyday life in America, including the history of the family, women and the work force, race relations, and community life. The Reader's Companion to American History reflects this broader vision of our past. Interweaving traditional political and economic topics with the spectrum of America's social and cultural legacies -- everything from marriage to medicine, crime to baseball, fashion to literature -- the Companion is certain to engage the curiosity, interests, and passions of every reader.

This extraordinary reference provides a comprehensive summary of world history from the earliest recorded evens to the start of the third millennium. Arranged in an accessible year by year form that invites browsing, it answers research questions, and illuminates similarities and contrasts between different nations and different ages. With narrative essays preceding every section, spotlight essays on key historical themes, and detailed profiles of 101 of history's most influential thinkers, it offers a depth of insight that goes far beyond a mere listing of important dates. Here is the whole vast panorama of history in every region of the globe-wars, migrations, disasters, discoveries, inventions, the birth of new religions, the rise and fall of nations-complete with authoritative commentary that pulls it all together in a broad and informative perspective.