Here to help!
Information desk is on 1st floor
Schedule Librarian Appointment
Call (405) 974-3361
Email libraryresearch@uco.edu
Search our FAQs
Text (405) 266-5895
(Message & data rates may apply)
Government Agencies and Databases
- Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of all congressional publications: hearings, including never-published hearings that have been released by the National Archives and indexed by ProQuest staff; House and Senate reports and documents; and Committee Prints. Congressional Base also includes bill full text, tracking and profiles; the full text of the Daily Congressional Record, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; member and committee info; campaign finance and member voting data; and political news. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowAn image-based government document and legal research database containing comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. Includes the American Indian Law Collection.
How to search HeinOnline - U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the British House of Commons and the House of Lords Sessional Papers from the 19th century. Also includes the Hansard Parliamentary debates from 1803 to 2005.
-
American Memory ProjectProvides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images and more documenting the American experience.
-
Prints & Photographs Online CatalogLibrary of Congress collection focusing on the history of the United States (although international in scope).
-
EDSITEment!Provides lesson plans and other high quality resources for developing curriculum in the humanities.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Declassified U.S. government documents providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth century history, politics, and international relations.
- Office of the HistorianThe Office of the Historian is staffed by professional historians who are experts in the history of U.S. foreign policy and the Department of State and possess unparalleled research experience in classified and unclassified government records.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersFrom the Library of Congress, search historic American newspapers from 1836-1922. This site also has a directory of US newspapers from 1690-present.
- American Fact Finder
Includes national population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- International Database
Global population trends, links to historical population estimates, population clocks, and estimates of population, births, and deaths occurring each year, day, hour, or second.
- National Atlas of the United States
Interactive, multimedia, layered maps of the U.S.
- United States Geological Survey
The USGS provides relevant, objective scientific studies and information used to help address issues and solve problems dealing with natural resources, natural hazards, and the environmental effects on human and wildlife health.
- USGS Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
Retrieves detailed information about a specific place or point of interest in the U.S., territories, and Antarctica. Includes: elevation, population, description, history notes, variant names, and USGS 7.5' map names.
- World Population Trends
Information covering a variety of demographic topics.
Find statistics
- FedStatsStatistics from over 100 federal agencies. Select “All Topics and Services,” in the upper left. then select the topic area in which you are interested.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United StatesPublished since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- Oklahoma State Government OnlineInformation on Oklahoma State government and state agencies
- CIA World FactbookContains detailed statistics (education, health, economy, environment, quality of life, and more) on every country in the world.
