Theatre Arts

Journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts on theatre and performance worldwide.

New Play Exchange is a digital library of scripts by living writers that serves students, professors, fans of theater, writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, and actors.

Contains plays, information on playwrights and practitioners, genres, periods, context and criticism, and theatre craft.
Includes a subscription to Nick Hern Books.
How to search Drama Online

Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.

Collection of 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.

Collection of dramatic works from the early 19th century to its close. It includes historical plays, melodramas, political satires, minstrel shows, comic operas, musical extravaganzas, parlor entertainments, adaptations of novels, and more.