Preparing for OSAT?
The library has access to study materials for the OSAT Library Media Specialist exam (as well as the OGET and OPTE). You can view these materials through the Mometrix database.
- MometrixProvides study guides and practice tests for teaching, business, and nursing certification exams including OSAT, CPA, TEAS and more.
School Library Media databases
Library Media Education
Consider the general Education and related databases too, but we have several databases specific to library science:
- LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology AbstractsAbstracts of journal articles, books, research reports. All areas of librarianship including classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
How to search an EBSCO database - ProQuest Central: Library Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in library science, online retrieval, archives, and information technology.
These databases are professional book- and materials-review sources that will help you with selecting appropriate materials:
- Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new windowThe best source for reviewing academic (i.e., college-level) books, electronic media, and internet resources.
- Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School EditionContains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,440 popular high school level nonfiction books including high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
- Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School EditionContains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular middle school level nonfiction books including high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.
- Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary School EditionContains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 1,290 popular elementary level nonfiction books including high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, civics and more.
Books in the Library
Sometimes it is helpful to simply browse or search in the call number range for your specific area, to familiarize yourself with the titles. Consider:
Z4-115.5: Books (General). Writing
Z662-1000.5: Libraries
Z716.2-718.85: Libraries in relation to special topics. Including children's libraries, libraries and students
Z1001-1121: General bibliography
ZA3038-5190: Information resources (General)
ZA3150-3159: Information services. Information centers
ZA3201-3250: Information superhighway
ZA4050-4775: Information in specific formats or media
ZA4050-4480: Electronic information resources
ZA4150-4380: Computer network resources
ZA4450-4460: Databases
ZA4550-4575: Motion pictures. Video recordings
ZA4650-4675: Pictures. Photographs
ZA4750-4775: Sound recordings
ZA5049-5190: Government information
