LibGuides: Marketing: Industry/Company Information

Here to help!

News sources on markets, brands, & industries

You can often find reports and articles on industries in their trade journals. Use the Advanced Search option and Include search terms such as "market", "forecast", "industry overview", and "trends". Limit your results by source type.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business, economic conditions, corporations, management, trends, accounting, and finance. This link to ABI/INFORM includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, financial data, SWOT analyses, market research reports, industry reports, company profiles, case studies, and numerous other sources of information in all areas of business.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Financial information, SEC filings and reports, industry & marketing news.

Keep in mind, when researching a company, be sure you are looking up the parent company's name. For example Signet Jewelers Limited is the parent company of Kay Jewelers.

You can often find reports and articles on companies or industries in trade journals. Use the Advanced Search option and Include search terms such as "market", "forecast", "industry overview", and "trends". Limit your results by source type.

A to Z Databases - Business Directory and Job Search This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a job search, reference and mailing list database including 30 million business and executive profiles and 240 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, and finding friends and relatives.
Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international public and private company details, equity pricing, financial reports, industry reports, news, and SEC filings. (Note: This database is still evolving. It will replace Mergent Online in June 2025.)
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
For company reports, click on Advanced Search. Type your company in the Company/organization box, and choose "reports" under source type.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo provides business and financial research on major privately-held companies, including private market mergers and acquisitions, venture capital, and private equity.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
To find company information, click on the "Company Profiles" link in the blue bar at the top of the screen or click on Advanced Search, type in the company name and use the "Select a Field (optional)" dropdown menu to choose "CO Company Entity".
International Directory of Company Histories (new volumes suspended 1/2020) This link opens in a new window
Provides histories of companies (through 2019 and part of 2020) that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
For company information click on "Company Info", type in the company name and choose from the drop down menu to specify type of information.

Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international public and private company details, equity pricing, financial reports, industry reports, news, and SEC filings. (Note: This database is still evolving. It will replace Mergent Online in June 2025.)
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
To browse industry reports, click on the "Browse" link at the top of the page. From there, click the links under "Industry and Market Research" to access reports.
Mintel Academic Access (Market Research) This link opens in a new window
Mintel includes reports on industry trends.

Mintel Academic - market research reports

Mintel Academic Access (Market Research) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of in-depth micro-level market research reports on dozens of market niches in 14 major consumer areas. Each report has market data, company/brand data, consumer demographics, trending and forecasting information.
As of January 2024, Mintel no longer allows PDF downloads. PPT and other downloads will require you to set up an account.

NAICS- North American Industry Classification System

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Knowing this code is especially helpful when researching industry information.

Census Bureau NAICS Search