UCO Special Collections on Display

Special Collections on Display
in Max Chambers Library

The University of Oklahoma (UCO) holds many significant collections including diverse cultures from ancient to contemporary. As stewards of these valuable works the Max Chambers Library, Archives & Special Collections, facilitates the proper storage and preservation of these significant collections so they can be utilized for research, education and display.

In collaboration with other departments, The Library continually aims to use the various collections to create interdisciplinary and socially engaging exhibitions. The primary importance is the integration of the collections into academic and community programs with an emphasis on conveying the historical significance and the cultural diversity represented in each collections. The Archives & Special Collections also strives to provide a safe space to encourage individual interpretation and open discussion about contemporary social issues through materials culture.

Each floor of the Chambers Library displays art and artifacts from UCO's Special Collections. Works either donated, purchased or loaned to the Library currently on display represent the Murrah Collection, Melton Legacy Collection, Oklahoma Art Collection, Central and South American Art Collection, African Art Collection, Oceanic Art Collection, and the Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection.

In addition to its own collections, the Chambers Library offers display space to showcase other collections held by the university but managed by other departments. Display's on the Library's 2nd floor represent the UCO Natural History Collection from the Department of Biology, Oklahoma Fashion Museum Collection from the College of Education and Professional Studies, and the Laboratory of History Collection form the Department of History and Geography. The varied exhibits provide an opportunity for library visitors to view selections from UCO's diverse collections together in one place.