Help with OER
The Library can help you locate materials or check on the licensing of materials for educational use. Contact the library if you have questions or assistance with OER.
Finding OER
Searching for Open Educational Resources takes patience and time. This guide will help you connect with OER content, but you need evaluate each resource you find for quality and if it is suitable to your learning objectives.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) offers the ability to search a range of OER materials including textbooks, courses and corresponding materials, interactive simulations, public domain books, audiobooks, modules, open access books, videos and podcasts on a variety of topics – from anthropology to zoology. OASIS also is the only tool that allows users to limit searches by creative commons licenses or by faculty review.
- Mason OER MetafinderA federated search of 15 open educational resource sites from George Mason University.
- PCC Guides by SubjectGoogle Docs made by the librarians at Portland Community College.
- SkillsCommonsa comprehensive collection of workforce-related OER created by over 700 community colleges across the US. Created by the Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program. SkillsCommons contains free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development.
Major Repositories
Here are a few major repositories containing free, open source, creative commons licensed, or public domain material. Be sure to look for licensing information when appropriating a resource.
- SHAREOKSHAREOK is the joint institutional repository for the University of Oklahoma Libraries (OU), Oklahoma State University Libraries (OSU), and the University of Central Oklahoma Max Chambers Library (UCO).
It holds theses and dissertations; faculty publications; open access publications; open educational resources; newspapers, magazines, and journals; and institution-specific content.
- MERLOT II (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)A collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services developed by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning.
- OER Commons"The OER Commons website was created to help educators, students, and lifelong learners find Open Educational Resources that are already posted somewhere on the internet....This site is a structured database of links to high-quality resources found on other websites."
- Open Course LibraryA collection of shareable course materials designed by college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. These materials have undergone assessment to ensure quality.
- The Internet Archive"This library contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Many of these lectures are available for download. Materials within the Open Educational Resources Archive are licensed according to each author's wishes. Please see specific collections or items for licensing information."
- IluminaA digital library of undergraduate teaching materials for chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, and computer science.
