Interviews
- UCO Big InterviewUse this tool to learn about interviewing and practice your interview skills.
Company Information
It is important to learn more about a company before you arrive at the interview. Start with company profiles to get a good overview. You can also learn about their strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats in SWOT Analysis Reports.
It's also smart to be up-to-date on company news and how they rank with their competitors. Use the library's resources to find this information.
Adapted from a libguide by Alice Kalinowski at The University of Pittsburgh
Company Profiles & Information
Places to look for company information
- Company Website - Websites often have an "About Us" section. Keep in mind that this was written by the company and is the image that the company wishes to project.
- Annual Report - Public companies are required to file annual reports - 10-K. These reports will often have a section on the company's history. This is information the company self-reports.
- Databases and Library Resources - Some of the electronic resources in the library contain company histories
- Articles - Newspapers, trade magazines, and scholarly articles will provide some information on the company.
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business, economic conditions, corporations, management, trends, accounting, and finance. This link to ABI/INFORM includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. - Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, financial data, SWOT analyses, market research reports, industry reports, company profiles, case studies, and numerous other sources of information in all areas of business.
How to search an EBSCO database
Business Research Guide - International Directory of Company Histories (new volumes suspended 1/2020) This link opens in a new windowProvides histories of companies (through 2019 and part of 2020) that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international public and private company details, equity pricing, financial reports, industry reports, news, and SEC filings. The report builder allows horizontal and vertical analysis between multiple companies. Access to SEC EDGAR filings. (Note: This database will sunset June 2025. It is being replaced by Market Atlas.)
- NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Searches information in federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Also includes full text newspapers, broadcast transcripts including non-English language, financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowPrivCo provides business and financial research on major privately-held companies, including private market mergers and acquisitions, venture capital, and private equity.
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business, economic conditions, corporations, management, trends, accounting, and finance. This link to ABI/INFORM includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. - Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, financial data, SWOT analyses, market research reports, industry reports, company profiles, case studies, and numerous other sources of information in all areas of business.
How to search an EBSCO database
Business Research Guide - NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Searches information in federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Also includes full text newspapers, broadcast transcripts including non-English language, financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
SWOT is an "acronym for the components of a situation analysis in marketing and business strategy: strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats." Use the information to search for additional articles that might go further in depth.
Source: New Penguin Business Dictionary
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business, economic conditions, corporations, management, trends, accounting, and finance. This link to ABI/INFORM includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. - Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, financial data, SWOT analyses, market research reports, industry reports, company profiles, case studies, and numerous other sources of information in all areas of business.
How to search an EBSCO database
Business Research Guide - NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Searches information in federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Also includes full text newspapers, broadcast transcripts including non-English language, financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
