Inserting a video link into D2L
When inserting a link to streaming media into D2L, it is necessary to use the permalink generated by that media. This is the permanent, static hyperlink to that media, also known as a persistant link. These permalinks can be found in the same area as the media embed code within the media record.
Do not use the hyperlink shown in the top of the browser. This link is temporarily generated in the browser.
Adapted from the College of Charleston library guide.
Streaming Video - Performing Arts
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowContains videos of live performances. Also contains interviews with creative teams, interpretive notes, and analysis of scripts.
How to search Digital Theatre Plus
Theater Arts Research Guide - Medici.tv This link opens in a new windowLive broadcast events from the most prestigious venues (Carnegie, Concertgebouw, Theatre des Champs-Elysees, and more) as well as the largest online collection of classical music videos available on demand with unlimited access.
How to search Medici.tv - Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of classical music performances, opera, ballet and art & humanities documentaries. User limit: 5 concurrent users.
How to search Naxos Video Library - Qwest TV This link opens in a new windowQwest TV is a video platform dedicated to jazz and beyond, including funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres. Video content consists of concerts, documentaries, archives, and interviews. Co-created by Quincy Jones & Reza Ackbaraly.
Note: Streaming Media and Zoom (and other video-conferencing applications)
While it is possible to use the "screen-share" feature in Zoom (or other video-conferencing platforms) for "in-classroom screenings" of streaming media, is not recommended by the Library. It will likely result in poor audio and video quality for students viewing the material and could stress internet connections. Additionally, some streaming platforms apply copyright protection to their content which prevents any images or sound being shared using the "screen-share" feature.
Ideally, a permalink to the streaming media would be shared and the students could watch the video prior to the start of class discussion, so that they may view it on their own time without having to worry about quality or computer/internet limitations. For synchronous "in-classroom screenings" the recommended procedure is to direct students to view materials on their own, in a separate tab or window, with their Zoom audio muted, and then return to the main meeting for the continuation of class.
Adapted from the James E. Tobin Library Libguides by Tabitha Ochtera.
Streaming Video- Most Popular Collections
- AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming video content with searchable transcripts that covers most academic subjects. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowAccess to streaming video in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Science and Health, as well as small collections in Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling. Use your UCO email address to create a profile (optional).
Research Guides by Subject - Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowA streaming video service with award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Films may be shown in classes or embedded in D2L.
To request a one-year academic license for the UCO campus, fill out the form when prompted. Library staff will respond via email. You may search film titles using the search bar on the library homepage to determine if access is already available through other streaming services.
The Metropolitan Library provides individuals with access to 8 titles per month and includes unlimited access to The Great Courses and Kanopy Kids. - PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PBS videos selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covering many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, business, and current events. - Sage Video: Criminology and Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming video pertaining to Criminology & Criminal Justice.
- Socialism on Film This link opens in a new windowLook behind the iron curtain with this collection of films from the communist world. Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.
How to use Socialism on Film
Streaming Video - Health
- Nursing and Mental Health in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. - Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new windowPsychotherapy.net offers hundreds of streaming videos for mental health students and professionals covering a wide range of modalities, theoretical approaches, and populations.
- Sage Video: Criminology and Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming video pertaining to Criminology & Criminal Justice.
