Streaming through the Metropolitan Library System
A Metropolitan library card allows you to stream films, borrow eBooks, and listen to music through Kanopy and Hoopla.
Licensed Feature Films
The library has licensed individual title for use specific classes.
Streaming Introduction
The UCO library, working with several vendors, provides streaming video and audio to students, faculty, and staff.
If you have specific titles/resources you know you’d like to have available online, please send those to your Library Liaison and we will do the following:
- Check our available streaming services to see if the film/media is already available, and send you the link or embed code.
- Check to see if we can license an online version of the film/media from one of our providers, and do that if possible.
This process can happen relatively quickly, but the library does need some time to work through these options. Please let us know as soon as possible if you plan on using a film/media in your course.
Streaming Video- Most Popular Collections
- AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming video content with searchable transcripts that covers most academic subjects. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowAccess to streaming video in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Science and Health, as well as small collections in Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling. Use your UCO email address to create a profile (optional).
Research Guides by Subject - Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowA streaming video service with award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Films may be shown in classes or embedded in D2L.
To request a one-year academic license for the UCO campus, fill out the form when prompted. Library staff will respond via email. You may search film titles using the search bar on the library homepage to determine if access is already available through other streaming services.
The Metropolitan Library provides individuals with access to 8 titles per month and includes unlimited access to The Great Courses and Kanopy Kids. - PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PBS videos selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covering many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, business, and current events. - Medici.tv This link opens in a new windowLive broadcast events from the most prestigious venues (Carnegie, Concertgebouw, Theatre des Champs-Elysees, and more) as well as the largest online collection of classical music videos available on demand with unlimited access.
How to search Medici.tv - On the Boards This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of contemporary dance and other performances.
BIPOC Design History
- BIPOC Design History--Black Design in America This link opens in a new windowBlack Design in America: African Americans and the African Diaspora in Graphic Design 19th-21st Century is a series of thirteen recorded courses. Topics include: Afrikan diasporic design lineage; systems of slavery and white supremacy; Du Bois and data visualization; the Harlem Artists Guild; and hip hop aesthetics.
Videos are only accessible from on campus or via VPN, and from the linked page. If you click on a video title and go to a new page, it will ask you to pay. Please return to the original page to play the videos. - BIPOC Design History--Incomplete Latinx Stories of Diseño Gráfico This link opens in a new windowIncomplete Latinx Stories of Diseño Gráfico is a series of nine prerecorded courses. Topics include: the use of posters in Cuba and Puerto Rico; queerness and race in Brazilian design; Peruvian typography; and the Latinx diaspora.
Videos are only accessible from on campus or via VPN, and from the linked page. If you click on a video title and go to a new page, it will ask you to pay. Please return to the original page to play the videos.
