LibGuides: Native American Studies: Databasess

Current News

Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Covers US and Canadian newspapers, in tribal languages and English, from 1828 to 2016. Oklahoma newspapers include: Bacone Indian, Cherokee Phoenix, and Osage News.
NewsBank
National and international newspapers including Oklahoma newspapers.
Oklahoman (1901 - Current)
This resource is available through the Metropolitan Library
Full text, full image from every issue of the Oklahoman, including articles, photos, and advertisements.
Tulsa World
Search over 100 years of Tulsa history with the Tulsa World Collection. Coverage from 1906 through today, including full-color newspaper pages and full-text and web-only content.

Newspapers through Metropolitan Library

The Metropolitan Library has access to the digital versions of these newspapers. UCO students, staff, and faculty are eligible for a Metro card.

Video on how to access NYT

Pressreader
Access to both domestic and international newspapers and magazines.

Literary Criticism & Book Reviews

To find book reviews, limit "document type" to book review.

Gale: Literary Sources
Single-search platform for all Gale literature sources.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary resource providing articles from peer-reviewed journals. UCO's Collections include Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Security Studies, and Sustainability. Archival access only.
Project Muse
Multidisciplinary database with special emphasis on social science and the liberal arts.
Choice Reviews Online
The premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Hosted by EBSCO.

Historical Newspapers

Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Covers US and Canadian newspapers, in tribal languages and English, from 1828 to 2016. Oklahoma newspapers include: Bacone Indian, Cherokee Phoenix, and Osage News.

Gateway to Oklahoma History
Historical Oklahoma newspapers from the Oklahoma Historical Society

New York Times
Full-image archive of The New York Times. Provides every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF, from 1851 to 4 years before current year.
Washington Post
Newspaper archive covering politics, society and events from 1889 to 17 years before current year.
Wall Street Journal
Newspaper archive covering politics, society and events from 1889 to 18 years before current year.
Christian Science Monitor
Provides every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF from 1908 to 14 years before current year.
Chronicling America
Information about and select full-text from historical newspapers in the U.S. Also includes the Newspaper Title Directory, covering titles published from 1690 - present.
Nashville Tennessean
Newspaper archive covering politics, society and events from 1812 to 1922. Sourced from the collection of Tennessee State Library and Archives.

History Databases

America: History and Life
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hosted by EBSCO.
American Eras
Covers events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history, from pre-1600 to 1899. Contained in GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library).
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 is part of ProQuest History Vault's category of collections on American Politics and Society. It consists of collections from the U.S. National Archives, the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration.
Historical Abstracts
Resource covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education. Hosted by EBSCO. (ONLY 6 Concurrent Users)
Indigenous Life in America
The experience and impact of Indigenous Americans as recorded by the news media. Includes tribal newspapers. Coverage from 1690 to present, updated daily.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary resource providing articles from peer-reviewed journals. UCO's Collections include Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Security Studies, and Sustainability. Archival access only.
Territorial Papers of the United States
The official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States. Consists of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

Legal Collections

HeinOnline
An image-based government document and legal research database containing comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. Includes the American Indian Law Collection.
NexisUni
Searches information in federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Also includes full text newspapers, broadcast transcripts including non-English language, financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Territorial Papers of the United States
The official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States. Consists of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.
Westlaw Campus Research
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.

Native American Studies

Current News

Newspapers through Metropolitan Library

Wall Street Journal

New York Times

Washington Post

Oklahoman

Literary Criticism & Book Reviews

Historical Newspapers

History Databases

Legal Collections