LibGuides: Kinesiology: Databases

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Primary sources are original sources created by a participant or observer of a historical event. Primary sources may include: letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, speeches, photographs, audio recordings, government documents, and videos. In the arts, primary sources also include original garments, sketches, wigs, etc.

Secondary sources are interpretations or analyses of an event, usually written by scholars after the event occurred.

Health & Medicine Databases

UpToDate
UpToDate is the most widely used clinical decision support solution in the world. UpToDate’s evidence based content is comprised of more than 10,500 clinical topics across 24 specialties. A team of physician authors and editors continuously review more than 470 medical journals to ensure that the content is current and fully referenced. Also included in UpToDate is access to 5,400 unique drug entries, a drug interaction tool, 28,000 graphics, and 160 commonly used medical calculators.
PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and 35 other databases and individual life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Medline through Clarivate
Full-text access to medical literature in proprietary publications.
ProQuest Central: Combined Health & Medicine Databases
Combined search of the ProQuest Central databases Nursing & Allied Health, Family Health, Health & Medical Collection, Health Management, and Public Health.
BioMed Central
Biology, medicine, biotechnology, medical research, internal medicine, surgery, physiology, women's health, diseases and treatments.
SportDiscus Full Text
Scholarly journals, books, and trade publications in sports, sports medicine, kinesiology, and other related fields. Hosted by EBSCO.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness. Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Updated weekly. Hosted by EBSCO.
Acland's Video Atlas of Anatomy
For those who must learn or re-learn human anatomy without access to cadaver dissection, there's a critical need for a learning aid that presents images of the real human body in three dimensions. The Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is designed to meet that need in a form that can be used by anyone with a mid-speed internet connection.

Multidisciplinary Databases

ScienceDirect
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles, with a strong emphasis on the sciences and social sciences.
Concept Definitions and Subject Overviews
Web of Science
Includes the Web of Science Core Collection (which includes Science, Social Science, and Arts & Humanities citation index); SciELO Citation Index (international journals); MEDLINE; and Biological Abstracts.
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Hosted by EBSCO.
ProQuest Central Premium
Multidisciplinary search across many databases including business, health and medicine, social sciences, education, science and technology, and arts and humanities.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary resource providing articles from peer-reviewed journals. UCO's Collections include Arts & Sciences I-XV, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. Archival access only.

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PEDro ~ Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 22 years. It is a free database of over 53,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions. You can SEARCH to answer your questions, BROWSE the latest research in your area of interest, LEARN more about evidence-based practice, access useful RESOURCES, or find out more ABOUT this invaluable global resource.

UpToDate
UpToDate is the most widely used clinical decision support solution in the world. UpToDate’s evidence based content is comprised of more than 10,500 clinical topics across 24 specialties. A team of physician authors and editors continuously review more than 470 medical journals to ensure that the content is current and fully referenced. Also included in UpToDate is access to 5,400 unique drug entries, a drug interaction tool, 28,000 graphics, and 160 commonly used medical calculators.

Film and Video

AVON: Academic Video Online
Streaming video content with searchable transcripts that covers most academic subjects.
Films on Demand
Access to streaming video in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Science and Health, as well as small collections in Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling. Use your UCO email address to create a profile (optional).
Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video service with award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Films may be shown in classes or embedded in D2L.
Instructors may request a one-year academic license for the UCO campus by filling out the form when prompted. Library staff will respond via email. You may search film titles using the search bar on the library homepage to determine if access is already available through other streaming services.
The Metropolitan Library provides individuals with access to 8 titles per month and includes unlimited access to The Great Courses and Kanopy Kids.
PBS Video Collection
PBS videos selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covering many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, business, and current events.
Swank Digital Campus
Feature films for a variety of academic subjects including science, humanities and literature.
Available to stream in class or individually

Images

MasterFILE Complete
Contains a large image collection of photos. USE ADVANCED SEARCH TO SELECT IMAGE TYPE.