Your guide to common research and scholarly vocabulary
Bibliography A complete or selective list of source materials that are used or consulted when writing a research paper or book that are referred to in the text.
Database A searchable collection of electronic library resources. A database can contain newspaper article, magazine articles, theses, dissertations, and scholarly articles.
Journal A periodical, similar to a magazine, published for the academic community by an educated group for a certain subject area.
Peer Review The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field.
Popular Sources Writings that are intended for a general, non-academic audience.
Scholarly Sources Works written by scholars or professionals who are experts in their fields. They are often published in scholarly journals.
Includes The Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, Biblio Guides (overviews of the key readings and schools of thought), museum directory and exhibitions, Writings on Fashion (essays and primary sources), Bloomsbury fashion ebooks, and reference works including A-Z of Fashion and The Dictionary of Fashion History
The entire run of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present. Scanned in full color and including monthly updates.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Backfiles of leading womens interest consumer magazines from the late-19th century through to 2005. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
A comprehensive archive from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
Covers all aspects of business, economic conditions, corporations, management, trends, accounting, and finance. This link to ABI/INFORM includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Scholarly articles, financial data, SWOT analyses, market research reports, industry reports, company profiles, case studies, and numerous other sources of information in all areas of business.
Hundreds of in-depth micro-level market research reports on dozens of market niches in 14 major consumer areas. Each report has market data, company/brand data, consumer demographics, trending and forecasting information.
As of January 2024, Mintel no longer allows PDF downloads. PPT and other downloads will require you to set up an account.
Provides consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and other data for targeted advertising. Simmons data has a 2 year embargo. 3 users at a time.
