LibGuides: Research Basics: Find Media

Naxos databases

Please note: Once you have chosen your selections and are streaming your music/video, please close the database page so that others may access the database without exceeding the user limit. Thank you!

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Music tracks and albums, opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies, and other essential information.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window
Contains music from all eras and types of jazz representing 7,000 jazz artists.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of classical music performances, opera, ballet and art & humanities documentaries. User limit: 5 concurrent users.

Streaming Databases

The library subscribes to some subscription video streaming resources.

AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Streaming video content with searchable transcripts that covers most academic subjects.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains videos of live performances. Also contains interviews with creative teams, interpretive notes, and analysis of scripts.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Feature films for a variety of academic subjects including science, humanities and literature.
Available to stream in class or individually
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Access to streaming video in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Science and Health, as well as small collections in Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling. Use your UCO email address to create a profile (optional).
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
A streaming video service with award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Films may be shown in classes or embedded in D2L.
Instructors may request a one-year academic license for the UCO campus by filling out the form when prompted. Library staff will respond via email. You may search film titles using the search bar on the library homepage to determine if access is already available through other streaming services.
The Metropolitan Library provides individuals with access to 8 titles per month and includes unlimited access to The Great Courses and Kanopy Kids.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Live broadcast events from the most prestigious venues (Carnegie, Concertgebouw, Theatre des Champs-Elysees, and more) as well as the largest online collection of classical music videos available on demand with unlimited access.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of classical music performances, opera, ballet and art & humanities documentaries. User limit: 5 concurrent users.
Sage Video: Criminology and Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video pertaining to Criminology & Criminal Justice.
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
Look behind the iron curtain with this collection of films from the communist world. Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.