Geography

This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography.   Over 2000 entries that are self-contained or cross-referenced include 200 that are new to this edition, over 400 that are rewritten and updated, and new supporting references and additional recommended reading in many others. Entries removed from the last edition are available in the online resource. This volume is the essential reference point for students of physical geography and related environmental disciplines, lecturers and interested individuals alike.

Small & Witherick's highly successful dictionary has already, in its first three editions, proved its value as a comprehensive guide to the key principles, concepts and terminology of contemporary geography. This new, accessible edition reflects developments in the discipline since 1995. Existing entries have been updated and new entries added, together with many new illustrations. Covering both human and physical geography, this dictionary is an essential reference for A level and first-year undergraduate students of the subject.

With clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms byleading researchers in the field, The Dictionary of HumanGeography, fifth edition, remains the definitive guide to theconcepts and debates in human geography. Comprehensively revised new edition of a highly successful textwith over 300 key terms appearing for the first time Situates Human Geography within the humanities, social sciencesand sciences as a whole Written by leading experts in the field Major entries not only describe the development of concepts,contributions and debates in Human Geography but also advancethem Features a new consolidated bibliography along with a detailedindex and systematic cross-referencing of headwords

Provides capsule histories, descriptions of physical geography, population figures, and entries for peoples and languages.

The Companion Encyclopedia of Geography provides an authoritative and provocative source of reference for all those concerned with the earth and its people. Examining both physical and human geography and charting human activities within their habitat up to the present day, this Companion also asks what lies in the future: * A differentiated world * A world transformed by the growth of a global economy * The global scale of habitat modification * A world of questions * Changing worlds, changing geographies * Geographical futures. The forty-five self contained chapters are bound into a unifying whole by the editors' general and part introductions; each chapter provides details of the most useful sources of further reading and research, and the volume is concluded with a comprehensive index. This is an invaluable resource not only for students, teachers and researchers in the academic domain but also professionals in interested commercial and public-sector organisations.

This informative resource is a fascinating compilation of the history, politics, and culture of every capital city from around the world, making this the only singular reference on the subject of its kind. Every country, even the world's youngest nations, has a capital city_a centralized location which houses the seat of government and acts as the hub of culture and history. But, what role do capital cities play in the global arena? Which factors have influenced the selection of a municipal center for each nation? This interesting encyclopedia explores the topic in great depth, providing an overview of each country's capital_its history and early inhabitants, ascension to prominence, infrastructure within the government, and influence on the world around them. The author considers the culture and society of the area, discussing the ethnic and religious groups among those who live there, the major issues the residents face, and other interesting cultural facts. Capital Cities around the World: An Encyclopedia of Geography, History, and Culture features the capital cities of 200 countries across the globe. Organized in alphabetical order by country, each profile combines social studies, geography, anthropology, world history, and political science to offer a fascinating survey of each location.