Skip to Main Content

MLA Style Guide

Library Research Guide

Books

Type In-Text Works Cited
Book with 1 author (Fukuyama 24)

Fukuyama, Francis. Our Posthuman Future: Consequences of the Biotechnology Revolution. Farrar, 2002.
Book with 2 authors (Bremmer and Van Den Bosch 42)

Bremmer, Jan, and Lourens Van Den Bosch. Between Poverty and the Pyre: Moments in the History of Widowhood. Taylor and Francis, 2002. 
Book with 3 or more authors (Plag et al. 124)

Plag, Ingo, et al. Introduction to English Linguistics. Mouton, 2007.
Book with a Corporate Author (American Medical Association 147)

American Medical Association. The American Medical Association Encyclopedia of Medicine. Random, 1989.
Book with a Translator, or Other Contributor

(Tolstoy 30-45)

 

 

Tolstoy, Leo. Anna Karenina. Translated by Rosemary Edmonds, Penguin Books, 1978.
Book with an editor(s) (Herzinger 123)

Herzinger, Kim. "Glory Days: The Day I Met Buddy Holly." It's Only Rock and Roll: an Anthology of Rock and Roll Short Stories, Edited by Janice Eidus and John Kastan, David R. Godine Publisher, 1998, pp. 22-47.
Electronic book from a database  (Bremmer and Van Den Bosch 42)

Bremmer, Jan, and Lourens Van Den Bosch. Between Poverty and the Pyre: Moments in the History of Widowhood. Taylor and Francis, 2002. ProQuest eBook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ucok-ebooks/detail.action?docID=169555. Accessed 20 October 2017.

Access date is optional but encouraged. Check with your instructor.
Book with more than one edition (Lafont 24-30)

Lafont, Maria. Soviet Posters: The Sergo Grigorian Collection. 2nd. ed., Prestel, 2008.
Multi-volume Work (Rampersad 222)

Rampersad, Arnold The Life of Langston Hughes. 2nd ed., vol. 2, Oxford UP, 2002.

 

Type In-Text Works Cited
Chapter in a Book (Okazaki 235)

Okazaki, Akio. "European Modernist Art into Japanese School Art: The Free Drawing Movement in the 1920s." Histories of Art and Design Education: Collected Essays, edited by Mervyn Romans, Intellect Books, 2005, pp. 229-245.
Chapter in Book - From a Database (Okazaki 235)

Okazaki, Akio. "European Modernist Art into Japanese School Art: The Free Drawing Movement in the 1920s." Histories of Art and Design Education: Collected Essays, edited by Romans, Intellect Books, 2005, pp. 229-245. ProQuest eBook Central ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ucok-ebooks/reader.action?ppg=230&docID=283051&tm=1509046058879. Accessed 20 October 2017.

Access date is encouraged but not required. Check with your instructor.
Entry in an Encyclopedia or Dictionary (Gaukroger 442-452)

Gaukroger, Stephen. "Bacon, Francis (1561-1626). Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 442-452.
Entry in an Encyclopedia - From a Database (Gaukroger 442-542)

Stephen. "Bacon, Francis (1561-1626). Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. , 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 442-452. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/retrieve.do?resultListType=true&contentSegment=&prodId=GVRL&isETOC=true&docId=GALE|CX3446800150#. Accessed 20 October 2017.
Type In-Text Works Cited
eBook from the Web (Jesse 12-34)

Jesse, Edward. Anecdotes of Dogs. Henry G. Bohn, 1858. Google Books. www.books.google.com/books?id=vbM59tyLUxQC&printsec-ffalstse. Accessed 9 Nov., 2019.
eBook from a Library Database (Bremmer & Lourens 123)

Bremmer, Jan, and Lourens Van Den Bosch. Between Poverty and the Pyre: Moments in the History of Widowhood. Taylor and Francis, 2002. ProQuest eBook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ucok-ebooks/detail.action?docID=169555.j. Accessed 9 Nov. 2017.
Entry from an Online Encyclopedia (Gaukroger 445)

Gaukroger, Stephen. "Bacon, Francis (1561-1626). Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 442-452. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/retrieve.do?resultListType=true&contentSegment=&prodId=GVRL&isETOC=true&docId=GALE|CX3446800150#. Accessed 9 Nov. 2017.