Multi-Disciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary, general database covering most academic topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary resource providing articles from peer-reviewed journals. UCO's Collections include Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Security Studies, and Sustainability. Archival access only.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search across many databases including business, health and medicine, social sciences, education, science and technology, and arts and humanities. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with special emphasis on social science and the liberal arts.
Video Demonstrations
WorldCat and ILL
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat searches the catalog records of libraries across the globe. Records include many formats: books, serial titles, DVDs, CDs, conference proceedings, and maps.
Request these items through Interlibrary Loan.
Databases Related to Forensic Science
- ACS: American Chemical Society This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from current 3 years for approximately 40 American Chemical Society periodicals.
All accessible articles will say "Subscriber Access." The library does not have access to the ACS Archives and articles older than 3 years may be in archival collection. - SciFindern (Must register for individual account from on campus.) This link opens in a new windowCAS SciFindern is from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
CAS SciFindern Help
Register for a New Account - CINAHL with Full Text - Nursing & Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive source of full text articles for nursing & allied health journals related to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship,alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
How to search CINAHL - Basic
How to search CINAHL - Advanced - PubMed This link opens in a new windowA service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and 35 other databases and individual life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
- Criminal Justice AbstractsCrime and criminals, criminology, forensics, police procedures and methods, prevention and safety, crime trends, corrections, jails, prisons, juvenile delinquency, courts, offender tracking, probation, victims, sentencing, and alternative sentencing.
How to search an EBSCO database
Law databases
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowAn image-based government document and legal research database containing comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. Includes the American Indian Law Collection.
How to search HeinOnline - Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.
How to search
How to use KeyCite - NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Searches information in federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Also includes full text newspapers, broadcast transcripts including non-English language, financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Other Sources
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (1st Electronic Edition)This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS) (2014)eLS includes peer-reviewed articles spanning the life sciences from cell biology to ecology with high-quality illustrations, article glossaries, and a list of further reading. UCO has access to content published in 2014 and before.
