LibGuides: Health: Databases

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Primary sources are original sources created by a participant or observer of a historical event. Primary sources may include: letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, speeches, photographs, audio recordings, government documents, and videos. In the arts, primary sources also include original garments, sketches, wigs, etc.

Secondary sources are interpretations or analyses of an event, usually written by scholars after the event occurred.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL with Full Text - Nursing & Allied Health Literature
Most comprehensive source of full text articles for nursing & allied health journals related to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Hosted by EBSCO.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing, nursing specialties, health, medicine, alternative medicine, care and treatment options,and allied disciplines. Designed for practitioners. Hosted by EBSCO.
ProQuest Central: Combined Health & Medicine Databases
Combined search of the ProQuest Central databases Nursing & Allied Health, Family Health, Health & Medical Collection, Health Management, and Public Health.
Ovid Journals
Articles from thousands of scientific, technical, and medical journals. Choose YourJournals@Ovid for journals to which we subscribe.

Health & Medicine Databases

UpToDate
UpToDate is the most widely used clinical decision support solution in the world. UpToDate’s evidence based content is comprised of more than 10,500 clinical topics across 24 specialties. A team of physician authors and editors continuously review more than 470 medical journals to ensure that the content is current and fully referenced. Also included in UpToDate is access to 5,400 unique drug entries, a drug interaction tool, 28,000 graphics, and 160 commonly used medical calculators.
PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and 35 other databases and individual life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Medline through Clarivate
Full-text access to medical literature in proprietary publications.
ProQuest Central: Combined Health & Medicine Databases
Combined search of the ProQuest Central databases Nursing & Allied Health, Family Health, Health & Medical Collection, Health Management, and Public Health.
BioMed Central
Biology, medicine, biotechnology, medical research, internal medicine, surgery, physiology, women's health, diseases and treatments.
MedRxiv
medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.
SportDiscus Full Text
Scholarly journals, books, and trade publications in sports, sports medicine, kinesiology, and other related fields. Hosted by EBSCO.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness. Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Updated weekly. Hosted by EBSCO.
Acland's Video Atlas of Anatomy
For those who must learn or re-learn human anatomy without access to cadaver dissection, there's a critical need for a learning aid that presents images of the real human body in three dimensions. The Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is designed to meet that need in a form that can be used by anyone with a mid-speed internet connection.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health and medicine. Non-technical articles on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Designed for consumers. Hosted by EBSCO.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing, nursing specialties, health, medicine, alternative medicine, care and treatment options,and allied disciplines. Designed for practitioners. Hosted by EBSCO.
CINAHL with Full Text - Nursing & Allied Health Literature
Most comprehensive source of full text articles for nursing & allied health journals related to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Hosted by EBSCO.

Health Economics

NBER Papers on Health Care
Explores the dramatic consolidation of health care organizations, the expansion of managed care, and the increased price competition among health care providers, all of which have transformed the landscape of health care delivery today. Members of the program study the phenomena now occurring in health care markets, work to understand the factors leading to changes in health care markets, and analyze the consequences of alternative policy options.
NBER Papers on Health Economics
Emphasizes studies on the economics of substance use, the economics of obesity, economic models of the determinants of health, and the determinants of the cost of medical care.

Multidisciplinary Databases

ScienceDirect
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles, with a strong emphasis on the sciences and social sciences.
Concept Definitions and Subject Overviews
Web of Science
Includes the Web of Science Core Collection (which includes Science, Social Science, and Arts & Humanities citation index); SciELO Citation Index (international journals); MEDLINE; and Biological Abstracts.
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Hosted by EBSCO.
ProQuest Central Premium
Multidisciplinary search across many databases including business, health and medicine, social sciences, education, science and technology, and arts and humanities.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary resource providing articles from peer-reviewed journals. UCO's Collections include Arts & Sciences I-XV, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. Archival access only.