Psychology
Databases: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles
Recommended databases (priority order): PsycInfoFormats: Articles, citations for books, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports Full Text: Some linked full text in other EBSCOHost databases Years: 1887 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Psychology, mental health, addictions and treatment, therapies, experiments, case studies, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatric nursing, linguistics, social work. PsycInfo also provides links to PsycArticles, which contain full text articles from all publications of the American Psychological Association. PsycCritiquesFormats: Book reviews Full Text: All Years: 1956 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: PsycCritiques, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), provides reviews of current scholarly and professional books in psychology, as well as critiques of popular films and trade books from a psychological perspective. It contains more than 36,000 reviews dating back to 1956. SocIndexFormats: Articles Full Text: Most Years: 1895 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: SocIndex contains full text for 235 core journals dating back to 1895, and 72 priority coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers. SocIndex covers all subjects in the social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, cultural issues, public policy and administration, social planning, community development, and behavioral studies. Related databases (alphabetical order): CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health LiteratureFormats: Articles Full Text: Some CINAHL reports are full text; other articles link to full text in other EBSCOHost databases Years: 1982 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines from 1,700 journals. Full text material includes 58 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials. Clinical PharmacologyFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Current, concise drug information for all U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. Drugs may be searched by their generic or brand names. Clinical Pharmacology is made up of Drug Monograph and Patient Education Records. Drug Monographs include description, mechanism of action, and pharmacokinetics. Patient Education Records contain such information as what the medication is used for, what their health care professional should know before taking the medication, how the medication should be taken, what they should do if a dose is missed, what other medications can interact, possible side effects, what to watch for, and where to keep the medication. Cork DatabaseFormats: Articles, books, book chapters, and reports Full Text: None Years: Late 1970s - current Vendor: Free website Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Alcohol and substance abuse, clinical and treatment methods, outcomes, health insurance and costs of care, etiology and genetics, employee assistance programs, prevention. Sources are mainly from bibliographic records in Dartmouth College Library. Encyclopedia of Applied PsychologyFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Elsevier Number of Users: Unlimited Description: The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. This compendium is a major source of information for professional practitioners, researchers in psychology, and for anyone interested in applied psychology. The topics included are, but are not limited to, aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. The entries drawn from the above-referenced areas provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application. Encyclopedia of PsychotherapyFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Elsevier Number of Users: Unlimited Description: This Encyclopedia addresses over 200 topics by experts in psychotherapy. Topics were selected in order to give broad coverage of the field so as to encompass the most contemporary schools and approaches that have clearly defined techniques, some form of systematic study, and measurement of outcomes. Eclectic and integrative approaches have also been considered. Additional topics that transcend all schools, such as the impact of culture and the importance of the therapeutic relationship, have also been included as well as discussion of the treatment for some specific disorders. Encyclopedia of the Human BrainFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Elsevier Number of Users: Unlimited Description: The Encyclopedia presents articles on the entire range of human brain research. Written in an engaging, accessible style, the encyclopedia not only is an important major reference work but also can be browsed informally by anyone who seeks answers about the activities and effects of the brain, such as why and how we dream, what parts of the brain are involved in memory, how we recognize human faces and other objects, what are the brain mechanisms involved in cognition and language, what causes phantom limb pain, what are the implications of left-handedness, or what current treatments are available for Parkinson’s disease. ETOH DatabaseFormats: Articles, documents, reports Full Text: None Years: Varies Vendor: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Alcohol, alcoholism, alcohol abuse. NOTE: Use the Expanded Search option for keyword searching. Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionFormats: Articles, reference work Full Text: Some Years: 1984 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Nursing, nursing specialties, health, medicine, alternative medicine, care and treatment options,and allied disciplines. Sources are from 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines; abstracts for over 550 journals. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary LGBT LifeFormats: Articles, books Full Text: All Years: Varies Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered) Life with Full Text covers 190 journals, with 120 in full text, as well as more than 140 full-text books. The database also includes indexing to reference works and a comprehensive LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. All relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included. Medline with Full TextFormats: Articles Full Text: Full text from 1965 without embargo Years: 1945 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: The world's most extensive collection of published medical information, coordinated by the National Library of Medicine. Indexes using MESH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Oxford Reference: Medicine & PsychologyFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: These five specialized reference works provide definitions for topics in health and medicine, anatomy, physiology, nursing, drugs, and psychology Oxford Reference: Politics & Social SciencesFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: These nine specialized reference works cover topics such as geography, political biography, political systems, sociology and social systems, psychology, and government. PsycArticlesFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: 1987 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Full-text articles from approximately 47 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycInfo also provides links to PsycArticles, but may not have as complete coverage as a separate search. Sage: All Sources in Sage EreferenceFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Sage Publications Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Sage Ereference provides online access to subject encyclopedias on many topics in social science, health, medicine, politics, history, and environmental studies. Sage: Encyclopedia of CounselingFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Sage Publications Number of Users: Unlimited Description: The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling. The four volumes of this Encyclopedia are flexibly designed so they can be use together as a set or separately by volume, depending on the need of the user. Sage: Encyclopedia of Interpersonal ViolenceFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Sage Publications Number of Users: Unlimited Description: The Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence provides accurate, research-supported information to clarify critical issues and educate the public about different forms of interpersonal violence, their incidence and prevalence, theoretical explanations, public policy initiatives, and prevention and intervention strategies. These two volumes contain more than 500 accessible, jargon-fee entries written by experts and provide cross-references to related entries, as well as suggested readings for further information. Sage: Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research MethodsFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Sage Publications Number of Users: Unlimited Description: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more—all without overwhelming the informed reader. Sage: Encyclopedia of Survey Research MethodsFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Sage Publications Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. Although there are other "how-to" guides and references texts on survey research, none is as comprehensive as this Encyclopedia, and none presents the material in such a focused and approachable manner. With more than 600 entries, this resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint. SciVerse (was ScienceDirect)Formats: Partial books and selected articles Full Text: Most - if citation asks for login, article is not available Years: Varies Vendor: Elsevier Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Content is "culled from 2,500 journals and 11,000 books" (SciVerse website). After searching, many articles have a green icon indicating you have full access. If you don't see that icon, click on the title of the item and to see details. Click the "Find It!" button at bottom left to discover how to access the item. General databases (many subjects): Academic Search CompleteFormats: Articles Full Text: Some Years: Varies; most publications are full run Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Article FirstFormats: Articles Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases Years: 1990 - current Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Top reference works for Psychology Tests in PrintFormats: Reference work Full Text: Entries are full text; some but not all are linked to reviews in Mental Measurement Yearbook Years: Current Vendor: Buros Institute, through EBSCOHost Number of Users: 4 concurrent users Description: Tests in Print (TIP) is an annotated bibliography of tests that are currently in print in the English language. Some, but not all, of the tests in TIP have links to critical, candid test reviews in Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). TIP provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Mental Measurements YearbookFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Volume 9 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: 4 concurrent users Description: For a comprehensive bibliography of tests currently in print, use Tests in Print. TIP will have links to reviews in MMY if they are available. Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, includes consumer-oriented test reviews. The purpose of the Yearbook is to provide evaluative information to promote informed test selection. Typical test entries include descriptive information, professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be included, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new, revised, or widely used since it last appeared in the series. The MMY in print in the Reference Collection goes back to the first volume. MMY online provides coverage from volume 9 to the present. Browse periodicals in Psychology Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area. To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database. Organizational change and Development Organizational Psychology Behavioral Science (Psychology) and Counselling Psychiatry & Psychology |
