News Sources
Databases: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles
Recommended databases (priority order): Newspaper Source PlusFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: 1995 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than a half-million television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts, including: ABC News (American Boadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more. Oklahoman ArchivesFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: 1901 - current Vendor: OPUBCO Number of Users: Not listed Description: All information from every issue of the Oklahoman, including articles, photos, and advertisements. Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are included. LexisNexisFormats: Articles, short-entry reference works, law codes Full Text: Most Years: Current Vendor: LexisNexis Number of Users: 99 concurrent users Description: LexisNexis offers information in the following areas: Law: Federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Includes full text journal articles from law reviews and accounting, auditing, and tax information. News: Full text newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts (news sources include non-English language). News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Companies: Company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news, SEC filings such as 10-K, 10-Q, and their exhibits; company, industry, and market news; company financial information. LexisNexis also offers minor coverage of country information and brief biographical information, primarily on prominent people in business and law. Related databases (alphabetical order): Military & Government CollectionFormats: Articles, pamphlets, country reports Full Text: Some Years: Varies Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Current military news, full text for 320 military periodicals, 245 pamphlets over various topics and indexing and abstracts for over 350 magazines. New York Times (Historical)Formats: Full-page images of newspaper Full Text: All Years: 1851-2005 Vendor: ProQuest Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, the definitive voice of American journalism since 1851. It provides every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF, from 1851-2002. Another year of coverage will be added each year. Oklahoma Periodicals IndexFormats: Articles Full Text: None Years: 2000 - current Vendor: Free website from Oklahoma State University Library Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Index to articles about people, places, history, culture, wildlife, and natural history in the state of Oklahoma with some coverage outside the state. The index consists of four key periodicals: The Chronicles of Oklahoma, Oklahoma Today, Outdoor Oklahoma, and Persimmon Hill. PAIS - Public Affairs Information ServiceFormats: Articles, books, government documents, statistics, directories, reports Full Text: Some linked full text to other EBSCOHost databases Years: 1972 - current Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: Unlimited Description: International and national affairs, government, geopolitics, political science, elections. Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Contains 500,000 records, each with bibliographic information and brief, descriptive abstracts. Includes materials in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish with English language abstracts and subject headings. Links to web resources and publisher websites. Reader's Guide RetroFormats: Articles Full Text: None Years: 1890 - 1982 Vendor: WilsonWeb Number of Users: 2 concurrent users Description: Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States during the late 19th and 20th centuries. Regional Business NewsFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Full text 75 regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated daily. General databases (many subjects): Academic Search CompleteFormats: Articles Full Text: Some Years: Varies; most publications are full run Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Article FirstFormats: Articles Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases Years: 1990 - current Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Browse periodicals in News Sources Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area. To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database. Journalism, Mass Communication, Media & Publishing |
