Recommended databases (priority order):
RILM Music Abstracts
RILM Music Abstracts
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Very little, but a few linked to full text in other EBSCOHost databases
Years: 1969 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. Contains citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are included if they are of scholarly interest.
Music Index
Music Index
Formats: Article citations, conference reports, dissertation abstracts, news, reviews
Full Text: None
Years: 1976 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Indexes 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages.
Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library
Formats: Audio files with accompanying information
Full Text: All
Years: Not applicable
Vendor: Naxos
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users shared between Naxos Music Library and NML: Jazz
Description: Contains more than 40,000 CDs, over 600,000 tracks of music. 1,000 CDs are added every month. Includes opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies and other essential information.
Please note: Once you have chosen your selections and are streaming your music, please close the database page so that others may access the database without exceeding the user limit.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Formats: Audio files with accompanying information
Full Text: All
Years: Not applicable
Vendor: Naxos
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users shared between Naxos Music Library and NML: Jazz
Description: Contains music from all eras and types of jazz.
Please note: Once you have chosen your selections and are streaming your music, please close the database page so that others may access the database without exceeding the user limit.
Related databases (alphabetical order):
Art and Architecture Complete
Art and Architecture Complete
Formats: Articles, reference works, full text books, images
Full Text: Most
Years: Varies
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of more than 330 periodicals and 215 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of approximately 65,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete
Formats: Articles, books
Full Text: Full text for 665 journals and some linked full text in other EBSCOHost databases
Years: Varies
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 journals and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Formats: Articles, book excerpts, chapters, dissertation abstracts
Full Text: Some
Years: 1984 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains full text for more than 100 periodicals and more than 100 books & monographs.
Oxford Reference: Performing Arts
Oxford Reference: Performing Arts
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: These eight specialized reference works cover topics relating to performing arts, including drama, dance, opera, Shakespeare, theatre arts, and biographical sketches of prominent persons.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection
Formats: Articles, pamphlets
Full Text: Pamphlets are full text; some linked full text articles to other EBSCOHost databases
Years: 1984 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Resources for professional educators. Sources include 530 journals of interest to educators, with full text from 440 of education titles. Over 160 full-text pamphlets, most from the U.S. Department of Education, also are available. Subject coverage includes education, counseling, administration and supervision, educational evaluation and assessment, and library and information science.
General databases (many subjects):
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some
Years: Varies; most publications are full run
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Article First
ArticleFirst
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases
Years: 1990 - current
Vendor: FirstSearch
Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide
Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Top reference work for Music
Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online)
Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online)
Formats: Reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Number of Users: 3 concurrent users
Description:
Oxford Music Online provides full text access to:
- Grove Music:
- New Grove Dictionary of American Music
- New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (3 volumes)
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (29 volumes)
- New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes)
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music
- The Oxford Companion to Music
- The Oxford Dictionary of Music
Oxford Music Online also includes biographies, links to sound, illustrations, and other related articles, and biographical linking to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Users may search by person, era, place, terminology and concept, or music critic.
If login is required, both the username and password are ucokonline
More reference works for Music
Browse periodicals in Music
Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area.
To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database.
All subcategories in Arts and Humanities
Current Events & News in the Arts
Education & Careers in the Arts
Acoustics
|