Literature In English
Databases: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles
Recommended databases (priority order): MLA (Modern Language Association) International BibliographyFormats: Articles, book chapters, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, other sources Full Text: Articles, book citations, dissertation abstracts, Years: 1926 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Indexes 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. LitFinderFormats: Primary sources, poems, essays, short stories, more Full Text: All Years: Varies Vendor: Gale Group Number of Users: Unlimited Description: LitFinder provides access to primary literature content, including the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Some works may only be available as citations or excerpts. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. The database is international in scope and covers all time periods. Project MuseFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: Varies (most 1995 - 18 months ago) Vendor: Muse Number of Users: Unlimited Description: General (multidisciplinary) database covering many topics with special emphasis on arts and humanities. Other listed topics include: anthropology, art, business, classics, culture and society, economics, education, ethnic studies, geography, history, languages, library science, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, sociology,and women's studies. Project Muse offers complete coverage for more than 400 university press journals. JSTOR: Journal StorageFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: Some from 1800s; most articles are 3-5 years old Vendor: JSTOR Number of Users: Unlimited Description: JSTOR offers back issues of journals. Searching in Project Muse or EBSCOHost will link to older articles in JSTOR. JSTOR provides full text from 117core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The most recent issues are 3-5 years from date of publication. Related databases (alphabetical order): Book Review DigestFormats: Articles Full Text: Excerpts of full text reviews Years: 1983 - present. For reviews of older books, see the print Book Review Digest (Z1219 .C96) Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Citations and excerpts of book reviews for current English-language fiction and nonfiction books including adult and children's literature. Covers periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Reviews more than 7,000 books per year. Books in PrintFormats: Short-entry reference work Full Text: All book reviews are full text Years: 1979 - current Vendor: Bowker Number of Users: Site license Description: Records for approximately 2.5 million books that are in print, forthcoming, or declared out-of-print or out-of-stock indefinitely since 1979. Includes 500,000 full text book reviews. Film & Television Literature IndexFormats: Articles Full Text: Some Years: 1988 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlmited Description: Film and Television Literature Index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Gale Literature Resource CenterFormats: Online reference work, journal articles Full Text: Most Years: Varies Vendor: Thomson Gale Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Critiques of literary works, biographies of authors, bibliographies and links for more information, some full text journal articles, and critical analyses of authors. Brief details on novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes a browsable timeline and the full text of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (Selected articles), Encyclopedia of Literature, Scribners Writers, Twaynes Author Series , and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Contains nearly 50,000 audio files. Humanities International CompleteFormats: Articles, books Full Text: Full text for 665 journals and some linked full text in other EBSCOHost databases Years: Varies Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 journals and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. IterFormats: Articles, books, essays, letters, other sources Full Text: Some Years: Primary sources from 400; journals from 1853 - current Vendor: University of Toronto Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Collection of databases with literature about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Article databases include 518 scholarly journal titles. Iter is path in Latin. Oxford Reference: ClassicsFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: This group of five specialized reference works covers aspects of Greek and Roman life in the classical era, including history and politics, ethics and morals, law and punishment, social and family life, language, literature, and art, religion and mythology, technology, science, and medicine. Includes brief biographical information on important figures of Greek and Roman culture. Oxford Reference: Dictionaries & ThesauriFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: General dictionaries and thesauri Oxford Reference: English LanguageFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: This set of eleven specialized reference works covers English etymology, grammar, abbreviations, eponyms, foreign terms in English, idioms, linguistics, proverbs, and usage. See Oxford English Dictionary for definitions of words in English. Oxford Reference: LiteratureFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: These 12 specialized reference works provide biographical information about authors, and critiques and plot summaries of their works. Emphases: American, African-American, Classical, British, and Irish literature. Oxford Reference: QuotationsFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: These resources include quotations from science, and historical and famous figures. SocIndexFormats: Articles Full Text: Most Years: 1895 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: SocIndex contains full text for 235 core journals dating back to 1895, and 72 priority coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers. SocIndex covers all subjects in the social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, cultural issues, public policy and administration, social planning, community development, and behavioral studies. General databases (many subjects): Academic Search CompleteFormats: Articles Full Text: Some Years: Varies; most publications are full run Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Article FirstFormats: Articles Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases Years: 1990 - current Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Top reference works for Literature Gale Literature Criticism OnlineFormats: Short-entry reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Thomson Gale Group Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Full text of ten Gale Series for literature criticism, including:
Gale Literature Resource CenterFormats: Online reference work, journal articles Full Text: Most Years: Varies Vendor: Thomson Gale Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Critiques of literary works, biographies of authors, bibliographies and links for more information, some full text journal articles, and critical analyses of authors. Brief details on novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes a browsable timeline and the full text of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (Selected articles), Encyclopedia of Literature, Scribners Writers, Twaynes Author Series , Dictionary of Literary Biography. Gale Literature Series IndexFormats: Citations for Gale reference works Full Text: None Years: Current Vendor: Thomson Gale Group Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Searches for citations to essays on authors and literature in reference works published by Gale Group. For full text critiques, Gale Literature Resource Center. Browse periodicals in Literature In English Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area. To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database. Language & Linguistics Literature |
