Recommended databases (priority order):
ENGNetBASE
ENGNetBASE
Formats: Short-entry reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: CRC
Number of Users: 1 user
Description: Engineering, electronics, operations research, and related topics. Provides access to 300+ full text reference works with more added as they are published. All titles are cataloged in the Chambers Library catalog.
Compendex Engineering
Compendex Engineering
Formats: Articles, books, patents, standards, and conferences, government, and technical reports
Full Text: No full text articles, but reference works, reports, patents are full text
Years: Compendex: 1970 to the present. INSPEC: 1969 - present.
Vendor: Elsevier Engineering
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The following collections may be searched together or separately.
Compendex - Chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical and materials engineering. Abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.
INSPEC - Electrical and electronic engineering, physics, information technology, and computer and control systems. Citations from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
ENGnetBASE - 190+ full text engineering books.
Techstreet Standards - Industry standards and specifications from 350+ organizations.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office - Six million U.S. patent details.
Esp@cenet - Patent information from Europe, the World Intellectual Property Organization and Japan.
Scirus - Searches both free and journal sources by covering science-related Web pages
ASME: Mechanical Engineering
ASME: Mechanical Engineering
Formats: Full text journal articles from publications of the ASME
Full Text: All
Years: Not listed
Vendor: ASME
Number of Users: Not listed
Description: Includes 20 publications of the ASME, covering aspects of mechanical engineering such as materials science, biomechanics, fluid mechanics, energy and resources, and others.
Inspec
Inspec
Formats: Citations for articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, patents and reports
Full Text: Linked full text
Years: 1969 - present.
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Inspec provides citations and abstracts to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. Inspec provides coverage from over 3,800 journals and 3,000 conference proceedings. In addition to the core subject areas, Inspec also provides significant coverage in related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and many more.
Related databases (alphabetical order):
ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
Formats: Articles, conference proceedings, newsletters
Full Text: Articles only; all other sources are not full text
Years: Complete coverage of every ACM issue
Vendor: Association for Computing Machinery
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Computer science. Full text articles from 15 ACM periodicals. Requires Acrobat Reader for articles, which are in .pdf format.
Computer Science Index
Computer Science Index
Formats: Articles, professional publications, and reference works
Full Text: Some
Years: Some journals indexed from 1950s
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and related topics.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Formats: Articles, professional publications, reference sources
Full Text: Approximately half is full text
Years: Not listed
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 830 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
Encyclopedia of Energy
Encyclopedia of Energy
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The Encyclopedia of Energy provides an entry point to the field for the specialist or the non-specialist looking for information on a subject related to their own expertise. Library and information scientists may use it as a first point of reference for research into a particular field of energy. Managers and policy -makers may refer to it in their decision making. Alternatively, it could be used by practicing professionals searching for a specific detail, or students trying to gain an overview of the essentials of a subject.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas:
Functional Phenomena
Structural Phenomena
Fundamental Core Theory
Structural Materials
Polymers and Materials Chemistry
Functional Materials
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the whole topic of spectroscopy, from theory to applications. Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. Each article is flagged as to which area of spectroscopy it covers ("Mass Spectroscopy", "Magnetic Resonance", etc.) and whether it covers theory, methods and instrumentation, or applications.
IOP Science (Institute of Physics)
IOP Science (Institute of Physics)
Formats: Articles
Full Text: All
Years: 1874 - current (or journal's entire run)
Vendor: Institute of Physics
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Searches 86 journals published by the Institute of Physics, a British organization. Covers the subjects of physics, mathematics, engineering, chemistry and biological physics.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet
Formats: Journals, books, proceedings
Full Text: None
Years: 1864-current, coverage varies
Vendor: American Mathematical Society
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: MathSciNet contains over 2.2 million items and over 800,000 links to original articles in more than 1000 journals from more than 250 publishers. Over 85,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Each year over 65,000 reviews are added, written by experts around the world.
Oxford Reference: Computing
Oxford Reference: Computing
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: These three specialized dictionaries define terms in computing science, telecommunications, software and hardware, concepts and theories, issues relating to the Internet, and weights, measures, and units.
Oxford Reference: Earth & Environment
Oxford Reference: Earth & Environment
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: These five specialized dictionaries cover earth science, ecology, geography, geology, climatology, oceanography, vulcanology, planetary science, remote sensing, statistical measures, and related disciplines.
Physical Review
Physical Review
Formats: Articles
Full Text: All
Years: 1893 - current
Vendor: American Physical Society
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Searches journals published by the American Physical Society. Chambers Library subscribes to the entire database, including archives and current content, letters and series.
Sage: Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Sage: Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Sage Publications
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes.
Scitation Physics and Engineering
Scitation Physics and Engineering
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Very little
Years: Complete coverage for all journals
Vendor: American Institute of Physics
Number of Users: Library only/2 concurrent users
Description: Scitation searches 110 journals from physics and engineering societies such as AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and others. Scitation contains approximately 600,000 articles and grows at the rate of more than 6,000 articles per month. Please note: if you click on an article citation and are prompted for login, this means that Chambers Library does not have online access to that article. You may use Interlibrary Loan to request articles that are not online or in print on 4th floor of the library.
General databases (many subjects):
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some
Years: Varies; most publications are full run
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Article First
ArticleFirst
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases
Years: 1990 - current
Vendor: FirstSearch
Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide
Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|