Recommended databases (priority order):
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Formats: Articles, documents, lesson plans, technical reports, reviews
Full Text: All ERIC digests are full text; some articles have links to full text in other EBSCOHost databases; approximately 80% of ERIC documents from 1993 to present are full text online; ERIC documents on microfiche on 4th floor are from 6/1984 - 12/2002.
Years: 1966 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: ERIC articles come from 980 education-related journals. ERIC digests are overviews written by ERIC staff on 2,200 topics; ERIC documents are non-journal resources such as lesson plans, technical reports, case studies, or conference presentations.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection
Formats: Articles, pamphlets
Full Text: Pamphlets are full text; some linked full text articles to other EBSCOHost databases
Years: 1984 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Resources for professional educators. Sources include 530 journals of interest to educators, with full text from 440 of education titles. Over 160 full-text pamphlets, most from the U.S. Department of Education, also are available. Subject coverage includes education, counseling, administration and supervision, educational evaluation and assessment, and library and information science.
Related databases (alphabetical order):
MAS Ultra (School Edition)
MAS Ultra (School Edition)
Formats: Articles, short-entry reference works
Full Text: Most
Years: 1975 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: General interest, current events. Includes 550 popular magazines and publications, 550 full text pamphlets, 237 full text reference books, 91,600 biographies, 75,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Designed for K-12 schools.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus
Formats: Articles, reference works, pamphlets
Full Text: Most
Years: 1990 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Designed for for middle and junior high school students. Contains full text from 120 education, general reference, health and science magazines. Offers indexing and abstracts for 150 magazines. This database includes 2,000 charts, tables and graphs; full text of 43 reference books; full text of hundreds of pamphlets; over 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; CIA World Factbook; Essential Documents in American History and The Encyclopedia of Animals.
Primary Search
Primary Search
Formats: Articles, reference works, pamphlets
Full Text: Most
Years: 1984 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Designed for elementary schools, this database contains full text
from 50 children's magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children's reading rooms. Includes indexing and abstracts for 80 magazines. Other full text sources include almanacs, concise encyclopedias, and over 100 pamphlets.
Sage Premier
Sage Premier
Formats: Articles
Full Text: All from 1999-current
Years: 1999-current
Vendor: Sage Publications
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering many academic topics.
Sage: All Sources in Sage Ereference
Sage: All Sources in Sage Ereference
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Sage Publications
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Sage Ereference provides online access to subject encyclopedias on many topics in social science, health, medicine, politics, history, and environmental studies.
Sage: Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Sage: Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Sage Publications
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Bilingual education is the use of two languages in the teaching of curriculum content in K-12 schools.
Encyclopedia covers:
- Family, Communities, and Society
- History
- Instructional Designs
- Languages and Linguistics
- People and Organizations
- Policy Evolution
- Related Social Sciences
- Teaching and Learning
Sage: Encyclopedia of Education Law
Sage: Encyclopedia of Education Law
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Sage Publications
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following:
-
Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews
- Constitutional issues
- Key concepts, theories, and legal principles
- Key statutes
- Treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights)
- Curricular issues
- Educational equity
- Governance
- Rights of students and teachers
- Technology
Sage: Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Sage: Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Sage Publications
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more—all without overwhelming the informed reader.
Sage: Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
Sage: Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Sage Publications
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. Although there are other "how-to" guides and references texts on survey research, none is as comprehensive as this Encyclopedia, and none presents the material in such a focused and approachable manner. With more than 600 entries, this resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint.
SIRS Discoverer
SIRS Discoverer
Formats: Elementary-level magazine and newspaper articles, brief reference, pictures
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: ProQuest
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Apple QuickTime and iTunes are required for best use. SIRS Discoverer contains: Animals, Arts, Countries, Cultures, Drugs & Alcohol, Environment, Health & Human Body, History & Government, Kids Corner, Notable People, Personal Growth, Science, Social Issues, Sports, Technology, Pathfinders, Activities, Biographies, Fiction, Country Facts, Maps of the World, Educators’ Resources, Dictionary/Thesaurus, Current Events Spotlight of the Month, World Almanac for Kids, an Encyclopedia, Discoverer WebFind, and Web Sites for Kids. Linked from SIRS Discoverer, eLibrary Elementary offers information at children's reading level.
Student Research Center
Student Research Center
Formats: Reference work, newspaper and magazine articles
Full Text: Most
Years: Varies
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Student Research Center includes biographies, brief overviews of topics from encylopedias, facts and statistics from reference sources, and newspaper and magazine articles. Intended audience is middle school through high school.
General databases (many subjects):
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some
Years: Varies; most publications are full run
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Article First
ArticleFirst
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases
Years: 1990 - current
Vendor: FirstSearch
Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide
Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Top reference works for Education
Tests in Print
Tests in Print
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: Entries are full text; some but not all are linked to reviews in Mental Measurement Yearbook
Years: Current
Vendor: Buros Institute, through EBSCOHost
Number of Users: 4 concurrent users
Description:
Tests in Print (TIP) is an annotated bibliography of tests that are currently in print in the English language. Some, but not all, of the tests in TIP have links to critical, candid test reviews in Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). TIP provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Volume 9 - current
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: 4 concurrent users
Description:
For a comprehensive bibliography of tests currently in print, use Tests in Print. TIP will have links to reviews in MMY if they are available. Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, includes consumer-oriented test reviews. The purpose of the Yearbook is to provide evaluative information to promote informed test selection. Typical test entries include descriptive information, professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be included, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new, revised, or widely used since it last appeared in the series. The MMY in print in the Reference Collection goes back to the first volume. MMY online provides coverage from volume 9 to the present.
More reference works for Education
Browse periodicals in Education
Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area.
To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database.
Disability Studies & Assistance
General - Environmental Sciences
General Chemistry
General - Law
General - Life Sciences
Education & Careers in the Arts
General - Computers and Information Technology
General - Mathematics
General Earth Sciences
General - Social Sciences
General - Physics
General Business
General - Health Sciences
General Engineering
|