Current Events
Databases: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles
Recommended databases (priority order): Topic SearchFormats: Articles, short-entry reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Current events, controversial issues, social, political & economic issues. Full text for over 64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including nearly 1,600 full text periodicals. Sources are: periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information and EBSCO's Current Issues database. PAIS - Public Affairs Information ServiceFormats: Articles, books, government documents, statistics, directories, reports Full Text: Some linked full text to other EBSCOHost databases Years: 1972 - current Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: Unlimited Description: International and national affairs, government, geopolitics, political science, elections. Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Contains 500,000 records, each with bibliographic information and brief, descriptive abstracts. Includes materials in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish with English language abstracts and subject headings. Links to web resources and publisher websites. Newspaper Source PlusFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: 1995 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than a half-million television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts, including: ABC News (American Boadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more. LexisNexisFormats: Articles, short-entry reference works, law codes Full Text: Most Years: Current Vendor: LexisNexis Number of Users: 99 concurrent users Description: LexisNexis offers information in the following areas: Law: Federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Includes full text journal articles from law reviews and accounting, auditing, and tax information. News: Full text newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts (news sources include non-English language). News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Companies: Company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news, SEC filings such as 10-K, 10-Q, and their exhibits; company, industry, and market news; company financial information. LexisNexis also offers minor coverage of country information and brief biographical information, primarily on prominent people in business and law. Related databases (alphabetical order): Biography Master IndexFormats: Reference work Full Text: None Years: 1984 - current (biographical information for people from antiquity to present) Vendor: Gale Group Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Citations for biographical information on more than 5 million people. Indexes articles, books, and autobiographies for graphical subjects from antiquity to the present. Includes individual and collective biographies from all fields and nationalities. Biography Reference BankFormats: Short-entry reference work Full Text: Most, with links to external resources Years: Antiquity to present Vendor: WilsonWeb Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Biography Reference Bank contains more than 95,000 short biographies and obituaries and 26,000 photographs from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books, including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and others. Includes all entries from Biography Index Plus, biographical material appearing in periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. These entries are enhanced with abstracts and the full text of articles where available. CQ Researcher GlobalFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: CQ Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Each CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report includes a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. CQ Researcher Global expands CQ Researcher to include international topics such as separatist movements and global hunger. Content from CQ Global contains a green "G" beside the report title. MAS Ultra (School Edition)Formats: Articles, short-entry reference works Full Text: Most Years: 1975 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: General interest, current events. Includes 550 popular magazines and publications, 550 full text pamphlets, 237 full text reference books, 91,600 biographies, 75,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Designed for K-12 schools. Oklahoman ArchivesFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: 1901 - current Vendor: OPUBCO Number of Users: Not listed Description: All information from every issue of the Oklahoman, including articles, photos, and advertisements. Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are included. Oxford Reference: HistoryFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: These 22 specialized reference works cover topics relating to history, including archaeology, dynasties, politics, lineages, military campaigns and strategies, biographical sketches, and government. Oxford Reference: Politics & Social SciencesFormats: Online reference works Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Oxford Reference Number of Users: 5 concurrent users Description: These nine specialized reference works cover topics such as geography, political biography, political systems, sociology and social systems, psychology, and government. General databases (many subjects): Academic Search CompleteFormats: Articles Full Text: Some Years: Varies; most publications are full run Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Article FirstFormats: Articles Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases Years: 1990 - current Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Top reference works for Current Events CQ Researcher GlobalFormats: Reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: CQ Researcher Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Each CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report includes a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Europa World Year BookFormats: Short-entry reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Europa Publications Number of Users: 1 concurrent user Description: Europa World Year Book publishes ten well-regarded reference works on political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Each article has an introductory survey of recent history; government; economic affairs; defense; education; social welfare; statistics; a directory of essential names and addresses and other information covering such areas as the constitution, government, legislature, political organizations, diplomatic representation, religion, the media, finance, trade, industry, transport and tourism. Europa World Year Book also provides information on 1,650 international organizations. Complete coverage of these books is included in the online Europa World Year Book: The Europa World Year Book Africa South of the Sahara Central and South-Eastern Europe Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia The Far East and Australasia The Middle East and North Africa South America, Central America and the Caribbean South Asia Opposing ViewpointsFormats: Short-entry reference work Full Text: All Years: Current Vendor: Thomson Gale Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Opposing Viewpoints is a source for information on social issues. Sections include viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Browse periodicals in Current Events Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area. To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database. All subcategories in Social Sciences |
