Recommended databases (priority order):
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Most
Years: Varies; most publications are 1985 - present
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Covers business, including marketing, management, ISOM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
LexisNexis
LexisNexis
Formats: Articles, short-entry reference works, law codes
Full Text: Most
Years: Current
Vendor: LexisNexis
Number of Users: 99 concurrent users
Description: LexisNexis offers information in the following areas:
Law: Federal and state case law, statutes, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Includes full text journal articles from law reviews and accounting, auditing, and tax information.
News: Full text newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts (news sources include non-English language). News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Companies: Company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news, SEC filings such as 10-K, 10-Q, and their exhibits; company, industry, and market news; company financial information.
LexisNexis also offers minor coverage of country information and brief biographical information, primarily on prominent people in business and law.
Related databases (alphabetical order):
Stat-USA (in library only)
Stat-USA (in library only)
Formats: Governmental reports
Full Text: Library only: ask librarian for login
Years: Mostly current data and some retrospective data
Vendor: U.S. Department of Commerce
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Economic indicators, trade, national and international markets, industry research, import/export, trade balance. Contains two parts: State of the Nation, for domestic information on current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data, and Globus and NTDB (The National Trade Data Base), for international market research, trade opportunities, and country analysis.
General databases (many subjects):
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some
Years: Varies; most publications are full run
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Article First
ArticleFirst
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases
Years: 1990 - current
Vendor: FirstSearch
Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide
Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Top reference works for Country Information
Europa World Year Book
Europa World Year Book
Formats: Short-entry reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Europa Publications
Number of Users: 1 concurrent user
Description:
Europa World Year Book publishes ten well-regarded reference works on political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Each article has an introductory survey of recent history; government; economic affairs; defense; education; social welfare; statistics; a directory of essential names and addresses and other information covering such areas as the constitution, government, legislature, political organizations, diplomatic representation, religion, the media, finance, trade, industry, transport and tourism. Europa World Year Book also provides information on 1,650 international organizations.
Complete coverage of these books is included in the online Europa World Year Book:
The Europa World Year Book
Africa South of the Sahara
Central and South-Eastern Europe
Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia
The Far East and Australasia
The Middle East and North Africa
South America, Central America and the Caribbean
South Asia
More reference works for Country Information
Browse periodicals in Country Information
Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area.
To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database.
Political Science
Regional and International Studies
|