Recommended databases (priority order):
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Formats: Articles, professional publications, reference sources
Full Text: Approximately half is full text
Years: Not listed
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 830 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
Formats: Articles, reports, conference proceedings
Full Text: All
Years: Journals from first issue to current, and conferences from 1995 to current
Vendor: IEEE
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Full text access to computer science papers published by IEEE Computer Society in their peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings.
ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
Formats: Articles, conference proceedings, newsletters
Full Text: Articles only; all other sources are not full text
Years: Complete coverage of every ACM issue
Vendor: Association for Computing Machinery
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Computer science. Full text articles from 15 ACM periodicals. Requires Acrobat Reader for articles, which are in .pdf format.
Computer Science Index
Computer Science Index
Formats: Articles, professional publications, and reference works
Full Text: Some
Years: Some journals indexed from 1950s
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and related topics.
Related databases (alphabetical order):
Compendex Engineering
Compendex Engineering
Formats: Articles, books, patents, standards, and conferences, government, and technical reports
Full Text: No full text articles, but reference works, reports, patents are full text
Years: Compendex: 1970 to the present. INSPEC: 1969 - present.
Vendor: Elsevier Engineering
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The following collections may be searched together or separately.
Compendex - Chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical and materials engineering. Abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.
INSPEC - Electrical and electronic engineering, physics, information technology, and computer and control systems. Citations from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
ENGnetBASE - 190+ full text engineering books.
Techstreet Standards - Industry standards and specifications from 350+ organizations.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office - Six million U.S. patent details.
Esp@cenet - Patent information from Europe, the World Intellectual Property Organization and Japan.
Scirus - Searches both free and journal sources by covering science-related Web pages
Encyclopedia of Information Science & Technology
Encyclopedia of Information Science & Technology
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Idea Group Reference
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: This work is also available in print in the reference section of the library - call number Z1006 .E566.
The Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology maps the ever-changing field of information science. It is the most comprehensive, research-based encyclopedia consisting of contributions from over 900 noted researchers in over 50 countries. This five-volume encyclopedia includes more than 550 articles highlighting current concepts, issues and emerging technologies. These articles are enhanced by special attention that is paid to over 5,000 technical and managerial terms. These terms will each have a 5-50 word description that allow the users of this extensive research source to learn the language and terminology of the field. In addition, these volumes offer a thorough reference section with over 11,500 sources of information that can be accessed by scholars, students, and researchers in the field of information science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Information Systems
Encyclopedia of Information Systems
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The Encyclopedia of Information Systems provides essential answers to questions increasingly asked by people in all walks of life. People can no longer claim that information about computer viruses, for example, is unimportant to their work, or that advances in speech recognition and encryption will leave them unaffected. The Encyclopedia is therefore more useful than one might suspect to people well beyond the walls of information systems departments. Offering both general and technical information about major elements, issues, opinions, and key studies, as well as cross-references to related subjects, it captures the dynamic growth and complexity unique to our era.
HighWire Press
HighWire Press
Formats: Articles
Full Text: All
Years: Most articles are at least 18 months old
Vendor: Free website
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Free database of articles in the biological, medical, physical and social sciences from approximately 170 journals.
Inspec
Inspec
Formats: Citations for articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, patents and reports
Full Text: Linked full text
Years: 1969 - present.
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Inspec provides citations and abstracts to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. Inspec provides coverage from over 3,800 journals and 3,000 conference proceedings. In addition to the core subject areas, Inspec also provides significant coverage in related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and many more.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet
Formats: Journals, books, proceedings
Full Text: None
Years: 1864-current, coverage varies
Vendor: American Mathematical Society
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: MathSciNet contains over 2.2 million items and over 800,000 links to original articles in more than 1000 journals from more than 250 publishers. Over 85,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Each year over 65,000 reviews are added, written by experts around the world.
Oxford Reference: Computing
Oxford Reference: Computing
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: These three specialized dictionaries define terms in computing science, telecommunications, software and hardware, concepts and theories, issues relating to the Internet, and weights, measures, and units.
General databases (many subjects):
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some
Years: Varies; most publications are full run
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Article First
ArticleFirst
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases
Years: 1990 - current
Vendor: FirstSearch
Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide
Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|