Recommended databases (priority order):
ACS: American Chemical Society
ACS: American Chemical Society
Formats: Articles
Full Text: All
Years: Archives cover from 1879 to 4 years ago; current searches cover the current 4 years.
Vendor: American Chemical Society
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Chemistry and related topics. Full text articles from 35 American Chemical Society periodicals. Requires Acrobat Reader.
Related databases (alphabetical order):
Compendex Engineering
Compendex Engineering
Formats: Articles, books, patents, standards, and conferences, government, and technical reports
Full Text: No full text articles, but reference works, reports, patents are full text
Years: Compendex: 1970 to the present. INSPEC: 1969 - present.
Vendor: Elsevier Engineering
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The following collections may be searched together or separately.
Compendex - Chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical and materials engineering. Abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.
INSPEC - Electrical and electronic engineering, physics, information technology, and computer and control systems. Citations from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
ENGnetBASE - 190+ full text engineering books.
Techstreet Standards - Industry standards and specifications from 350+ organizations.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office - Six million U.S. patent details.
Esp@cenet - Patent information from Europe, the World Intellectual Property Organization and Japan.
Scirus - Searches both free and journal sources by covering science-related Web pages
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The articles in this encyclopedia cover the scope of modern analytical science. The articles fall mainly into three classes: • Analysis for particular analytes
• Analysis of particular types of samples
• Analytical techniques
Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences
Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: The reader will learn about the use of transgenic plants with altered metabolism that enhances accumulation of proteins and carbohydrates, alkaloids and terpenoids, and other components. Other chapters report the state of the science and recent breakthroughs in genetics and biochemistry of photosynthesis, plant growth and development, and plant nutrition. There is also a much needed update on the many experimental approaches to develop transgenic plants with novel characteristics, including enhanced resistance to pests and pathogens; biofortification and enhanced food safety; altering seed biology; reducing ripening times and post-harvest losses; bioremediation, and so on. The advances that have been made in the field are truly remarkable and are a testament to the many opportunities that modern genetics and biotechnology have brought to plant sciences.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: This compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
Encyclopedia of Separation Science
Encyclopedia of Separation Science
Formats: Reference work
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Elsevier
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Separation Science is the science of separating mixtures into their components and identifying the nature of these components. It covers virtually every area of the hard sciences, from chemistry, biology, medicine, pharmacy, clinical chemistry, petroleum, cosmetic, nuclear, food, agrochemical, brewing and winemaking industry and environmental sciences.
The print edition of the Encyclopedia was published in August 2000 in ten volumes.
Inspec
Inspec
Formats: Citations for articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, patents and reports
Full Text: Linked full text
Years: 1969 - present.
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Inspec provides citations and abstracts to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. Inspec provides coverage from over 3,800 journals and 3,000 conference proceedings. In addition to the core subject areas, Inspec also provides significant coverage in related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and many more.
Oxford Reference: Biological Sciences
Oxford Reference: Biological Sciences
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: This group of six specialized reference works provide brief descriptions of concepts in biology, botany, biophysics, biochemistry, ecology, zoology, medicine, anatomy, chemistry, and more. Also provides brief biographical information on well-known scientists.
Oxford Reference: Earth & Environment
Oxford Reference: Earth & Environment
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: These five specialized dictionaries cover earth science, ecology, geography, geology, climatology, oceanography, vulcanology, planetary science, remote sensing, statistical measures, and related disciplines.
Oxford Reference: Physical Science & Math
Oxford Reference: Physical Science & Math
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: These seven specialized reference works cover topics relating to physical sciences, mathematics, astronomy, chemistry, physics, and statistics. Includes a dictionary of weights, measures, and units.
Oxford Reference: Science
Oxford Reference: Science
Formats: Online reference works
Full Text: All
Years: Current
Vendor: Oxford Reference
Number of Users: 5 concurrent users
Description: These 20 reference works cover astronomy, biology, anatomy, chemistry, ecology, mathematics, medicine, history of science, nursing, physics, plant sciences, psychology, statistics, climatology, zoology, and related disciplines.
General databases (many subjects):
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some
Years: Varies; most publications are full run
Vendor: EBSCOHost
Number of Users: Unlimited
Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Article First
ArticleFirst
Formats: Articles
Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases
Years: 1990 - current
Vendor: FirstSearch
Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide
Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Top reference work for Chemistry
SciFinder (library only)
SciFinder
Formats: Journal articles, reference works, patents, documents
Full Text: Reference work entries are full text, but articles are pay-per-view. Please look up your citation from SciFinder in our Periodicals List to see if the library subscribes to the journal; if not, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan.
Years: 1947 - current for indexing; 1967 - current for full text
Vendor: Chemical Abstracts Service
Number of Users: Not listed
Description:
Available in library only. On a computer in Electronic Resources in the library, click on Start, then SciFinder. SciFinder Scholar offers access to Chemical Abstracts (1947-present), Registry (1957-present), and CASREACT (from 30 journals, 1985-present; from patents, 1991-present). Search more than 27 million chemical substances by chemical name, structure, CAS Registry Number, and formula. Information for over 3.7 million organic, organometallic, natural product and biocatalyzed reactions from the CASREACT database is included in SciFinder Scholar.
More reference works for Chemistry
Browse periodicals in Chemistry
Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area.
To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database.
All subcategories in Chemistry
Toxicology
General Chemistry
Synthesis - Chemistry
Applied Chemistry
Medicinal Chemistry
Chemical Engineering
Nuclear Chemistry
Physical Chemistry
Crystallography
Inorganic Chemistry
Organic Chemistry
Clinical Chemistry
Electrochemistry
Polymers and Plastics
Environmental Chemistry
Radiation Chemistry
Kinetics
|