American Indians
Databases: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles
Recommended databases (priority order): Bibliography of Native North AmericansFormats: Book citations, essays, journal articles, and government documents Full Text: Some linked full text Years: Documents from 16th century - current; journals from late 1800s Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. America: History and LifeFormats: Articles, book chapters, reviews Full Text: Some linked full text Years: 1964 - present Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: 6 concurrent users Description: America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. For topics outside North America, use Historical Abstracts. SocIndexFormats: Articles Full Text: Most Years: 1895 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: SocIndex contains full text for 235 core journals dating back to 1895, and 72 priority coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers. SocIndex covers all subjects in the social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, cultural issues, public policy and administration, social planning, community development, and behavioral studies. Project MuseFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: Varies (most 1995 - 18 months ago) Vendor: Muse Number of Users: Unlimited Description: General (multidisciplinary) database covering many topics with special emphasis on arts and humanities. Other listed topics include: anthropology, art, business, classics, culture and society, economics, education, ethnic studies, geography, history, languages, library science, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, sociology,and women's studies. Project Muse offers complete coverage for more than 400 university press journals. JSTOR: Journal StorageFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: Some from 1800s; most articles are 3-5 years old Vendor: JSTOR Number of Users: Unlimited Description: JSTOR offers back issues of journals. Searching in Project Muse or EBSCOHost will link to older articles in JSTOR. JSTOR provides full text from 117core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The most recent issues are 3-5 years from date of publication. Related databases (alphabetical order): Biography Reference BankFormats: Short-entry reference work Full Text: Most, with links to external resources Years: Antiquity to present Vendor: WilsonWeb Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Biography Reference Bank contains more than 95,000 short biographies and obituaries and 26,000 photographs from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books, including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and others. Includes all entries from Biography Index Plus, biographical material appearing in periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. These entries are enhanced with abstracts and the full text of articles where available. GenderWatchFormats: Journal articles, magazines, government reports, book excerpts, booklets Full Text: Almost all Years: Varies by publication Vendor: ProQuest Number of Users: Not listed Description: A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and NGO, government and special reports. Humanities International CompleteFormats: Articles, books Full Text: Full text for 665 journals and some linked full text in other EBSCOHost databases Years: Varies Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 journals and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. MasterFILE PremierFormats: Articles, reference works Full Text: Most Years: 1975 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: General reference, business, health, education, general science, social sciences, arts and humanities. Provides full text for 1,950 general reference publications. Includes 350 full text reference books, 91,600 biographies, 75,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Designed for public library use. Newspaper Source PlusFormats: Articles Full Text: All Years: 1995 - current Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than a half-million television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts, including: ABC News (American Boadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more. General databases (many subjects): Academic Search CompleteFormats: Articles Full Text: Some Years: Varies; most publications are full run Vendor: EBSCOHost Number of Users: Unlimited Description: Multi-disciplinary, general database covering most academic topics. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Article FirstFormats: Articles Full Text: Some links to full text in other databases Years: 1990 - current Vendor: FirstSearch Number of Users: 20 concurrent users statewide Description: Multidisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals, more than any other library database. Contains citations for articles taken from the tables of contents of each issue of the journals covered.
|
Browse periodicals in American Indians Browse the magazines, journals, and newspapers associated with this subject area. To find articles on a particular topic within this subject, choose a database. Ethology Sociology General - Social Sciences Regional and International Studies |
