Recent changes in databases
Date Posted: Fri, Apr 13 2012 12:04:18
New! Medcom Nurse Training Videos - T3, from Medcom, is a training system for nurses that provides video reviews of nursing procedures, best practices, specialized care, OSHA compliance, HIPAA training, and continuing education credits through post-instruction tests, along with individual tracking of students' progress.
Date Posted: Wed, Mar 28, 2012 12:05:22
EBSCOHost recovers from glitch - The vendor of many of our databases, EBSCOHost, was offline yesterday due to a system failure following the rollout of new e-book management software. It's back and working fine, but if you have difficulty with any EBSCOHost database, please Ask Us!
Date Posted: Mon, Mar 19, 2012 12:05:23
TEDtalks in Films on Demand - TEDTalks videos have come to Films on Demand - 200 now, with hundred added soon. TEDTalks are fun, fascinating short lectures and demos in technology, science, global issues, entertainment, design, and business. They are freely available on the TED website, but having them in Films on Demand increases their exposure. Watch a a TEDtalk!
Date Posted: Tue, Feb 28, 2012 12:05:01
US News Rankings removed - US News & World Report College Rankings and US News & World Report Graduate School Rankings are gone from our list of online resources. The company does not allow an institutional subscription. We suggest these resources: College Catalogs and Peterson's Guides.
Date Posted: Tue, Feb 28, 2012 12:05:02
Naxos exceeds a million tracks - Naxos Music and Naxos Music: Jazz combined have surpassed one million tracks of classical, jazz, world, classic rock, nostalgia, and soundtrack music. We can have only 5 users at a time, so we recommend getting onto the site, making a playlist and launching the player, then logging off the site.
Date Posted: Fri, Feb 10, 2012 12:05:21
Compendex/EV improves access - Compendex, part of Engineering Village, focuses on chemical and process engineering, electronics, and civil, mechanical, and materials engineering. Our "Find It" button is now on the abstracts page for each result, which will guide you to the best way to obtain your article, report, or patent. Try it now!
Date Posted: Fri, Feb 3, 2012 12:04:21
New! Simmons OneView - Simmons OneView, published by Experian, provides consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and other data for targeted advertising. The database includes analytic tools, reports, and custom research. Access is limited to three concurrent users. Try it now!
Date Posted: Thu, Dec 15 2011 12:04:19
Changes for Opposing Viewpoints - Gale Publishing has changed the content arrangement for Opposing Viewpoints, a database for pro/con information on 14,000+ current issues. You can limit to primary sources, academic journals, statistics, or formats such as video, right from their start page. It also has court cases, radio programs, and more. Try it now!
Date Posted: Fri, Dec 2 2011 12:05:20
Business Source Complete enhanced - EBSCOHost has improved the interface and content of Business Source Complete. It's always been easy to find articles from more than 13,000 journals in BSC, and now it's easier than ever to find other business resources such as company and industry profiles, videos from Harvard Business School, market research reports, and SWOT analyses. Try it now!
Date Posted: Tue, Oct 11 2011 12:04:19
Films on Demand improves linking - Films on Demand has 8,000+ educational videos. Now it's easier to embed videos in your presentations or coursework. On the FOD site, find a video you want to link or embed, copy the URL on that page (not the URL in the browser) OR click "Embed this Video" and copy/paste the code. Try it now! | Ask us how.
Date Posted: Mon, Oct 3 2011 12:04:18
Book Review Digest on EBSCOHost - Book Review Digest provides review excerpts and book summaries for English-language fiction and non-fiction books. The database has been converted from a WilsonWeb database to the EBSCOHost platform. Try it now!
Date Posted: Thu, Sep 15 2011 12:04:18
New! Britannica Image Quest - Britannica Image Quest has 2 million+ images from over 50 of the world's best image collections. They are copyright-cleared for any educational purpose: your lessons, assignments, presentations, poster sessions, etc. We have a one-year trial to see how much usage it gets, so use it generously. Try it now!
Date Posted: Wed, Aug 31 2011 12:04:25
ProQuest improvements - We have nine ProQuest databases covering topics in history, art, politics, and biology. ProQuest unveiled a new interface during our spring semester, and now has added improved searching including date ranges, partial title searches, and more. See ProQuest search tips
Date Posted: Thu, Aug 25 2011 12:04:22
New! Import Genius database - Import Genius provides access to shipping manifests for all ocean freight entering the United States. This data is licensed from a variety of sources including records from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, other government agencies, non-profit organizations and partnerships with private data services. Try it now!
Date Posted: Tue, Aug 15, 2011 12:04:25
Grove Music is Oxford Music Online - Oxford Music Online acquired Grove Music last year and has been cross-listed on our master list of databases as Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online) in order to give our users time to adjust to the new name. The cross-listing has now been removed.
Date Posted: Tue, Aug 15, 2011 12:04:25
Grove Art is Oxford Art Online - Oxford Art Online acquired Grove Art last year and has been cross-listed on our master list of databases as Grove Art Online (now Oxford Art Online) in order to give our users time to adjust to the new name. The cross-listing has now been removed.
Date Posted: Tue, Aug 9, 2011 12:04:24
Salem Press adds digital access - Reference works such as Magill's Literary Annual, Forensic Science, The Seventies in America, and Magill's Medical Guide are now available online as well as in print. In the coming weeks, we'll add links for other Salem Press titles.
Date Posted: Tue, Aug 9, 2011 12:04:25
Dissertations move to Proquest - Dissertations and Theses Abstracts are now on Proquest. With the addition of theses as well as dissertations, the database becomes the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. Try it now!
Date Posted: Tue, Jul 26 2011 12:04:24
Films on Demand in Central Search - Central Search now has over 6,000 titles from Films on Demand, our supplier of streaming educational videos. If you do a keyword search in Central Search, you will get suggestions for streaming videos in addition to books and articles. You can link or embed titles and segments for your class content or student presentations.
Date Posted: Thu, Jul 21 2011 12:04:23
New Look for Films on Demand - Films on Demand, our supplier for thousands of educational videos, has radically overhauled its website, introducing a redesigned interface, new video player, new layout, more closed-captioning, and new encoding to make it Pad-friendly. Try it now!
Date Posted: Thu, Jul 21 2011 12:04:23
netLibrary is now eBook Collection - The majority of our ebooks are now on EBSCOHost with loads of new options and a friendly interface! NetLibrary has been renamed as eBook Collection. A mobile-friendly version has not yet been released. Try it now! | eBooks User Guide
Date Posted: Wed, Jul 12 2011 12:04:23
New! Complete Connection - Complete Connection invites you to discover other books similar to books you already enjoy, either fiction or non-fiction. Browse subjects or enter the title or author of a book you enjoy to find similar books by topic, genre, setting, timeframe, or author. Try it now!
Date Posted: Fri, Jun 3 2011 12:04:22
EBSCOHost acquires Wilson Web - One of our major database vendors, EBSCOHost, has acquired HW Wilson, a competing company. Over the next few months, our two Wilson databases, Biography Reference Bank and Reader's Guide Retro, will be converted to the EBSCOHost platform. For more information, please read this detailed article.
Date Posted: Thu, May 19 2011 12:04:22
New! Gale Reference adds sources - Gale Reference Library added 15 sources to the library's subscription. You can search all the reference books simultaneously or search a specific title. All titles are also available on Central Search and our Databases page. See the title list by visiting the Gale Reference Library and clicking on "Title List" or go directly to list.
Date Posted: Fri, 11 Feb 2011 12:04:22
Improved: Opposing Viewpoints - Opposing Viewpoints includes 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, covering current and controversial issues from varying prospectives. Its new interface, which it calls "Opposing Viewpoints in Context" includes more video, images, reference content, and improved navigation. Try it now!
Date Posted: Fri, Jan 20 2012 12:04:21
Two databases move to EBSCOHost - One of our major vendors, EBSCOHost, has been converting databases from the WilsonWeb platform to its own platform. The final two have been converted: Book Review Digest Plus (now including full text reviews) and Biography Reference Bank. Both databases have had enhancements and content added during the conversion.